Skip to main content

Data Sets: Subscription Data Sources

A guide to finding data sets online and within LaGuardia's subscriptions

Subscription Data Sources

By Professor Louise Fluk

From the Library's home page, there are a number of resources for generating datasets and others for locating books and articles on research topics.  Almost all are listed under "Statistical Sources": http://library.laguardia.edu/home/index.php?/research/database/subject/statistical_sources/

Other Sources

By Professor Louise Fluk

In addition to general article databases such as Academic Search Complete, CQ Researcher, and MasterFILE Premier, there are databases specialized by subject.  The following are a few examples:

  • Business and Company Resource Center:  Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
  • Computer & Applied Sciences Complete: Full-text access to articles on computing and applied sciences, including engineering.
  • GreenFILE: Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (1968-present)

The Library catalog (CUNY+) contains records for all the books in the CUNY system, including a huge collection of e-books.  The keywords for almost any subject and “statistics” or “statistical method” will yield relevant books (e.g., genetics and statistical methods; sports and statistics; business statistics; weather and statistics, etc.).  Other books that provide information about  specific research topics within these broad subjects are, of course, also available.  

Subject Guide

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library