Skip to main content

Japanese American Internment: Articles

A library research guide on Japanese American internment for LaGuardia Community College.

Finding Articles in Research Databases

Articles can be anything from scholarly articles published in academic journals to articles published in a magazine or newspaper. A database like ProQuest will carry all back issues and articles from a newspaper like the New York Times. This content is usually not available on the open web and is licensed for use via subscription to a database.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete - A very large, multi-disciplinary database, which includes scholarly journals as well as newspapers and popular magazines. Indexes over 8,000 journal titles, including more than 4,600 full-text journals.

American History in Video - A collection of video available online for the study of American history. It contains commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. A video guide can be found hereInstructions on sending links to mobile devices are here.

History Reference Center - Full-text access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines and journals. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.

JSTOR - This interdisciplinary archive includes access to over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The archive is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. 

New York Times, 1851-2009 (ProQuest Historical) - Two-minute video guide here. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (100% Full Text)

 

Background Research

Keywords/themes to explore: history, Japanese Americans AND internment, incarceration, detention, Executive Order 9066, relocation, resettlement, redress, reparations, evacuation, relocation, 

Finding Newspaper Articles

Searching in Databases

Play around with different combinations of words and phrases to see what kind of results you get. Here are some examples to get you started:

Japanese Americans

Japanese Americans AND internment

internment AND World War II

World War II OR World War 2 OR WWII OR WW2

Search Terms

Possible Keywords/Terms:

(not exhaustive):

Dentention Incarceration
Assembly Internment
Evacuation Relocation
20th Century United States
History Japanese Americans
Reparations Relocation
Redress Resettlement
Executive Order 9066


Your search terms can address specific:

Geographic Areas/Locations 

    (e.g. California, Manzanar, etc.)

Individuals

    (e.g. Franklin D. Roosevelt, James Hirabayashi, etc.)

Populations

    (e.g. women, family, immigrants, Asians, etc.)

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library