Skip to main content

Urban Studies at LaGuardia Research Guide: Statistics

This LibGuide is under construction

Statistical Resources-General

Internet Glossary of Statistical Terms

This site provides definitions of various  statistical terms and concepts.

Statistical Assessment Service (STATS)

" STATS - has become a much-valued resource on the use and abuse of science and statistics in the media."


Population Index-Princeton University

The Popluation Index provides  "an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics."

Statistical Assessment Service (STATS)

" Since its founding in 1994, the non-profit, non-partisan Statistical Assessment Service - STATS - has become a much-valued resource on the use and abuse of science and statistics in the media."

Statistical Resources-International

UNESCO Institute for Statistics

 The UNESCO's site is "the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories."

UNICEF'S Statistics & Monitoring Site

The UNICEF site provides " Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world."

United Nations-Population Division

The United Nations-Population Division provides " updated demographic estimates and projections for all countries."

Central Intelligence Agency's (CIA)-World Factbook

" The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

World Health Organization's (WHO) Data & Statistics  Site

The WHO site provides global health data.

 

Statistical Resources-United States

U.S. Department of Commerce-Bureau of Economic Analysis

This site provides data about "U.S. Economic Accounts."

FedStats

"FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government."

Statistical Abstract of the United States

"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

Statistical Resources-New York State

New York State Website

This site provides a variety of data about New York State.

New York State Profile-United States Census Bureau

This site provides "QuickFacts" about New York State.

Statistical Resources-New York City

NYCdata

NYCdata provides various kinds of data ( e.g., education, business, culture, sports, housing, income, labor, consumer prices) about New York City. NYCdata is " unique website that provides all the information about NYC you need!."

New York City Reference

The particular site provides " 1990 Census information about 5 boroughs."

Queens Chamber of Commerce

Queens Chamber of Commerce site contains information about  Queens.

Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce

This site provides information about  Brooklyn.

Bronx Chamber of Commerce

This site provides information about the Bronx.

Manhattan Chamber of Commerce

This site offers information about Manhattan.

Staten Island Chamber of Commerce

This site contains information about Staten Island.

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library