Skip to main content

Urban Studies at LaGuardia Research Guide: CUNY Resources

This LibGuide is under construction

La Guardia And Wagner Archives at LAGCC

About the La Guardia and Wagner Archives

The LaGuardia and Wagner Archives was established in 1982 to collect, preserve, and make available primary materials documenting the social and political history of New York City. The Archives serves a broad array of researchers: journalists, students, scholars, exhibit planners and policy makers examining the history of Greater New York.

Center for Urban Research at CUNY Graduate Center

Center for Urban Research at CUNY Graduate Center

"The Center for Urban Research organizes basic research on the critical issues that face New York and other large cities in the U.S. and abroad, collaborates with public agencies, nonprofit organizations, and other partners to help them understand how to respond to the challenges they face, and informs the media, opinion-shapers, and the public about urban research at The Graduate Center, CUNY."

The New York Census Research Data Center at Baruch College

The New York Census Research Data Center at Baruch College

"The  New York Census Research Data Center (NYCRDC) operates two secure  facilities (at Baruch and Cornell University) that house microdata collected by  the U.S. Census Bureau, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), and  the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)."

CUNY Institute for Demographic Research (CIDR)

CUNY Institute for Demographic Research (CIDR)

“The CUNY Institute for Demographic Research (CIDR) was established by the City University of New York in 2007 as part of a significant commitment to launch New York’s first demographic research and training program, thereby producing an intellectually vibrant community of scholars in that field. It is comprised of affiliates from many of the 23 CUNY campuses. Building on the presence of more than 30 demographers CUNY-wide, the City University of New York hired nine new faculty members in the field during the past few years.”

The Urban Studies Program at Queens College

The Urban Studies Program at Queens College

"Urban Studies is a field of study that creates innovative, real-world knowledge of the challenges and opportunities of city life.  Both inside and outside the classroom, the Urban Studies Department reaps the advantage of the immense complexity and diversity both of New York City as a preeminent global city, and Queens as one of the most diverse counties in the United States."

Hunter College's Urban Affairs and Planning Program

Hunter College's Urban Affairs and Planning Program

"Hunter College Urban Affairs and Planning (UAP) is a department within the School of Arts and Sciences at Hunter College. The department offers two graduate degrees, an accredited Master in Urban Planning degree, and a Master of Science in Urban Affairs degree. Both programs combine theory and practice in order to provide students with an in-depth understanding and appreciation of urban planning and policy. UAP also offers an undergraduate urban studies major that prepares students for higher education and careers in public service."

 

Hunter College Center for Community Planning & Development

Hunter College Center for Community Planning & Development

"The Center for Community Planning & Development (CCPD) promotes knowledge, applied research, and innovative practice in community planning and development throughout the New York metropolitan region. It provides technical assistance and training through partnerships with community-based organizations, non-profit corporations, and local agencies. The CCPD is committed to democratic, inclusive, and participatory approaches to planning and development that foster sustainability and economic and social justice."

Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College

CENTRO - Digital Collection

The Centro Library and Archives is devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the  history and culture of Puerto Ricans.  he Centro Archives, known as the Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora, were formally established in 1989.  The collections include books, current and historic newspapers and periodicals, audio, film & video, manuscripts, photographs, art prints, and recorded music.

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library