Skip to main content

FYS Library Instruction: LIF101 Liberal Arts FYS

This Guide will serve as a depositary for Class Assignments, Handouts, PPT presentations, and other materials that can be used by librarians during one-shot LI sessions and in for credit Library classes.

Class Description and Learning Outcomes

This session is designed as an introduction to the services and resources available through the library. Unlike your English 101 or 103 library session, it will not be a working visit with a focus on an assignment. Librarians will provide an overview of how the Reference Service works, library collections – both physical and electronic, and tech available for checkout. The session will address the difference between the open web and what can be found in the library; it can also introduce ideas related to college-level research like peer-review, citation, or evaluating sources.

When possible, the library session will be scheduled during your lecture hour in the Library Classroom. In some cases, the session will be scheduled during your lecture hour in your regular classroom. If you would like an additional library session that includes hands-on research time, email teachinglibrary@lagcc.cuny.edu to schedule a follow up. Due to space constraints, follow up visits are only available in Weeks 8-11. 

During the one hour Library session students will:

  • find articles by using library databases;
  • understand the difference between library electronic resources and resources freely available on the Internet;
  • generate and read citation from a database.

Class Assignment

No Assignment

Lesson Plan

LIF 101 - Liberal Arts, Social Sciences & Humanities

Activity: The Value of Libraries and Identifying Information Needs

Location: Smart Classroom during Lecture Hour

Learning Outcomes

Students will be introduced to the concept of library academic resources.

Students will learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of information.

 

Introduction

Information possesses several dimensions of value, including as a commodity, as a means of education, as a means to influence, and as a means of negotiating and understanding the world. This session will help students engage with these values, positioning the library as a welcoming and accessible space, librarians as guides and translators of modern information landscapes, and library resources as a way to participate in disciplinary conversations and mitigate the typical costs of information.

 

This session will also give students the chance to develop integrative learning skills by connecting their personal experiences, professional aspirations, and academic goals.
 

Frames

Core Competencies

Information has Value

Integrative Learning

 

Lesson Plan

 

Slides available here: https://shortlib.org/s/liflesson

Handouts of search results available here: https://shortlib.org/s/lifhandout

 

  1. After introduction, ask students to get out paper and write down the answer to: Why do community college students need libraries? (2 minutes)

  2. Watch one of these videos. All three are included in the slides; click through to the video you want:

    1. Meet Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress (3:46) (access, social justice, library as community center)

    2. Libraries in the Internet Age (2:39) (beyond books, focus on choosing - not finding - information )

    3. David Blaine at the NYPL (3:01) (reading as exploration, libraries as inspiration, imagination)

  3. Group Discussion or Think-Pair-Share: Students should turn to their neighbor and talk about how they would answer "Why do community college students need libraries?" after the video. They should also share their past experiences in libraries. Or, lead the discussion with the whole class. (5 minutes)

    1. On the board, ask for what students wrote down. Then, ask for what they discussed with their neighbor. Use their responses to fill in information about what our library can offer. For example, connect the way that the Library of Congress collects information that members of Congress need to the way LaGuardia collects the information students need. (5 minutes)

  4. Divide students into groups of 3-4.

  5. If in a non-computer lab classroom, provide GOOGLE RESULTS handout and/or show slide. If in the library classroom or computer lab, help students Google “immigrants.” Ask students to discuss:

    1. How would you describe these results?

    2. What types of sources show up in these results? (3 minutes)

  6. On the board, record their responses in a grid that looks like this (responses below are suggestions to get them started) (2 minutes):

 

Google Results

 

Definitions

Wikipedia

Recent Articles - News

Library Database

 

Complex Vocabulary

Academic Journals

Science Research

 

  1. If in a non-computer lab classroom, provide LIBRARY DATABASE handout and/or slide. If in the library classroom or computer lab, help students search “immigrants” in Academic Search Complete or other basic database. Ask same questions and record their responses (5 minutes)

  2. Discuss:

    1. When do you need the library?

    2. When do you need to use library databases / information from the library?

    3. When do you use Google?

    4. How do you tell when you should use the library vs Google? (5 minutes)

  3. If your LIF 101 library session takes place in the library classroom, lead students on a brief tour of the library (15 minutes). Consider stopping in front of:

    1. The Reference Desk

    2. Circulation

    3. Stacks

    4. Media Lab

    5. Group Study Rooms

 

Homework / ePortfolio Assignment

 

In a reflection of 150-200 words, answer the following questions:

 

  1. Do you remember the first time you went to a library? How did you feel?

  2. Information is both valuable and powerful. Do you agree or disagree?

  3. How is the information you can find in LaGuardia’s library different from the information you can find elsewhere?

 

Pratical links and sources

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library