Skip to main content

FYS Library Instruction: SYF 101 - Psychology FYS

This Guide will serve as a depositary for Class Assignments, Handouts, PPT presentations, and other materials that can be used by librarians during one-shot LI sessions and in for credit Library classes.

Class Assignment

SYF 101 will have two instruction visits
Focus on APA citation

Lesson Plan

SYF 101 – Psychology, part 1

Activity: Concept Mapping & Citation

Location: Computer Lab

Learning outcomes:

Students will be introduced to the concept of library academic resources

Students will learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of information

Introduction:

In the first of two parts, this session will focus on building subject knowledge and finding background information in encyclopedias. Students will learn how encyclopedias can offer different perspectives on the same topic; they will also create an APA citation for an encyclopedia entry. In order to gain a better understanding of subject knowledge students will create a concept map on ADHD or a topic related to their assignment, which will also help students narrow a research topic from general to specific.

Frames

Core Competencies

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Inquiry & Problem Solving

Scholarship as a Conversation

Integrative Learning

Global Learning

  1. Think, pair, share: how do you use the library, what do you want to learn today? (3 mins)    

      

  1. Brief intro to the library and its services: circ/textbooks, media, ref desk (5 mins)

 

  1. Intro to database grid: Encyclopedias, use Gale Virtual Reference Library (10 mins)

Search for ADHD (or a topic relevant to the class)

Analyze results in order to understand perspective and relevance to students’ topics

Ask students to pick one essay relevant to their interests, read/skim for background info & key terms and concepts, examine bibliography for additional sources

Show students how to email essay to themselves

 

  1. Create APA citation for encyclopedia entry together (5 mins)

 

  1. Building subject knowledge and developing a focused topic (10 mins):

Exercise: librarian will lead students through the process of making a concept map on the white board for ADHD or topic relevant to the class

Write ADHD in center of white board; ask students to name related topics to narrow draw on their experience in part 3; first rings of terms are related to ADHD; these terms can also have more specific terms/topics connected to them:

 

SYF 101 – Psychology, part 2

Activity: Scholarly Conversations & Citation

Location: Computer Lab

Learning outcome:

Students will be introduced to the concept of library academic resources

Students will learn the strengths and weaknesses of different forms of information

Introduction:

After covering background information in part 1, students will discuss the difference between news, popular, and scholarly sources as it relates to their research. Information from diverse sources will be examined as existing on a spectrum, rather than in a hierarchy. As a result, students will begin to understand scholarship as a conversation and that different sources meet different research needs. Students will also be introduced to a discipline-specific database like Psych INFO. Again, citation will be covered, this time for scholarly articles.

Frames

Core Competencies

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Inquiry & Problem Solving

Scholarship as a Conversation

Integrative Learning

Global Learning

Slides: https://goo.gl/DfNVVs

  1. What did you learn during the last session and what questions do you have? (3 mins)

  2. Critical thinking: information cycle, news, popular, and scholarly publications (10 mins)

    1. Use slides 3-11

    2. Discussion: articles across the spectrum of information with emphasis on individual research needs.

    3. Exercise: Students will be shown snippets from 3 articles and they will be asked to guess the source: newspaper, popular magazine, scholarly journal

  3. Databases: show subject grid, highlight quick start & Psychology (10 mins)

    1. Quick concept mapping exercise to generate keywords (see part 1 for details on concept mapping)

    2. Demo: Psych INFO

    3. Student exploration: pick one article and email it to themselves; one student demonstrates their search (time permitting)

  4. Create APA citation from the article you picked; cover in-text citation (7 mins)

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library