LibGuides: Honors Conference Research Guide: Overview & General Information

Library Hours

Hot Off the Press

News Worth Knowing

Library Notes
What's new? What's changed? or just FYI!

General Information

What's at Your Library?

General services and resources that are available in the Library include:

Personalized research help with a librarian at the Reference Desk from the when the Library opens until it closes.
Copies of required textbooks for almost all courses available at the Check-out (Circulation) Desk for a limited loan.
A well-maintained Reference Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals covering all subjects.
Access to all electronic resources including article databases.
Lap-tops, iPads, and calculators available for loan at the Media Desk.
Computers available for use on a first-come, first served basis in the IT Lab.
IT Lab consultants to assist with IT and software related questions.
Self-service photocopying.
Institutional Archives containing primary documents related the business and life of theCollege.

Find Articles Online

Find Articles Using Subscription Databases
To find an article on a specific issue or topic use the Library's subscription databases. We've indexed them by subject (e.g. Criminology, Psychology, etc.) or type/format of information (e.g. Statistics, Images, etc.)

Click here to if you need to FIND AN ARTICLE FROM A CITATION, then follow these steps:

Enter the journal title in the search box. This will give you the database that carries the journal.
Click on the database link, making sure it covers the year the article was published.
Once you get to the database choose the 'search within journal option.' When you do this in any of the EBSCO databases, you usualy are taken to a search page with something like this in the search box: JN "title of jounal". Do not delete this; simply ad the following: and article title. Your search should then look like this: JN "title of jounal" and article title.
Click here to see a short video tutorial if the process is still not clear.

Off-campus Access

24/7/365 Access

Research Anxiety?

Don't suffer! Get help!

Find Books

CUNY's book catalog
Books can be helpful for many topics, ESPECIALLY literary criticism.

Click on the above link to find a book anywhere within CUNY. In the "Search type:" you can narrow your search by author or title.

Increase your chances of finding something by selecting "All CUNY Libraries" from the "Select a library:"

If the book is available from another CUNY library or is a LaGuardia book that is in storage, You will hvae to request it.

Click to learn how to REQUEST A BOOK.

Library Renovation and Expansion: What's Changed?

President Mellow and Vice President Erfan welcomed City Council Majority Leader Jimmy Van Bramer and CUNY Interim Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning, Construction and Management Judith Bergtraum on December 5, 2014 for the groundbreaking.

As you probably noticed, the Library is expanding it's space. Once the expansion is completed (summer 2016) the Library will occupy two floors of the E Building. However, the expansion project has forced us to make a few changes.

Collection or Service	Change	Accessing Service/Collection During Renovation
Reference and Research Help	NONE	You can still get one-to-one research help at the Reference Desk
Textbooks on Reserve and Check-out Desk	NONE	You can still get textbooks and checkout books at the Check-Out Desk
Media Services Desk	NONE	You can still borrow iPads, etc and view media at the Media Services Desk.
Media Services Computer Lab	MOVED	The lab is now next to the Check-Out Desk
IT Computer Lab	TWO AREAS	Some machines remain in the same location. Other machines are now in the former Media Services Lab.
Printing	NONE	Printers are still in the same location.
Photocopying	REDUCED	Photocopiers in the rear are no longer in service. All others photocopiers are in the same place.
Seating and Study Space	REALLOCATED	Study carrels and some seating removed. Additional seating now in Room E111.