2014 - Phi Theta Kappa/Alpha Theta Phi - Honors in Action - LibGuides at LaGuardia Community College

Databases for Background Research

Call Numbers

Books in the LaGuaria Community College Library are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Each book has an assigned call number, sort of like an address of where it is located on the shelf. For a complete listing of how the books are arranged in our library, please click on the link below.

Library of Congress Classification System

Interlibrary Loan

Did you know that you can request books from other CUNY Libraries? If you find a "regular loan" book that is available on the shelf at another CUNY library, just click on "Request a copy" and it will be sent here to be picked up. Items can take up to 1-3 weeks to arrive, so plan ahead!

You can also request copies of articles not available in our library databases (full-text and free of charge!) from another library somewhere in the United States. Just set up an ILLIAD account here: http://lagcc.cuny.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/FirstTime.html

WorldCat Search

Google Books

Google Books is a good place to search within the pages of books. Remember that you can check the Library Catalog to see if we have full-text access via CUNY Libaries.

Find Books - Library Catalog Search

More recommended books

Gentrification and Schools: The Process of Integration When Whites Reverse Flight by Jennifer Stillman; Jennifer Burns Stillman
Call Number: ONLINE EBOOK - Click on title above to view ebook
ISBN: 9781137008992
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
"Jennifer Burns Stillman's Gentrification and Schools: The Process of Integration when Whites Reverse Flight is an excellent qualitative investigation of the perceptions of gentry parents about their children's education, the New York City schools they attend, and the processes of neighborhood and school choice. The book presents the rich voices of these parents about the challenges of sending their children to formerly segregated schools and provides an understanding of the ways in which they have contributed to school integration in New York City. Stillman provides an illuminating perspective on the views of these parents and frames them within the larger literature on gentrification, school choice, and desegregation." - Alan R. Sadovnik, Board of Governors Distinguished Service Professor, Rutgers University, co-editor of Palgrave Studies in Urban Education
Making a Promised Land: Harlem in Twentieth-Century Photography and Film by Paula J. Massood
Call Number: ONLINE EBOOK - Click on title above to view ebook
ISBN: 9780813555881
Publication Date: 2013-01-22
"Paula J. Massood analyzes how photography and film have been used over time to make African American culture visible to itself and to a wider audience and charts the ways in which the “Mecca of the New Negro” became a battleground in the struggle to define American politics, aesthetics, and citizenship. Visual media were first used as tools for uplift and education. With Harlem’s downturn in fortunes through the 1930s, narratives of black urban criminality became common in sociological tracts, photojournalism, and film."--publisher
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Jane Jacobs
Call Number: LaGuardia - Stacks - HT 167 .J33 1992
ISBN: 067974195X
Publication Date: 1992-12-01
The New York Nobody Knows by William B. Helmreich
Call Number: Stacks HN80 .N5 H45 2013
ISBN: 9780691144054
Publication Date: 2013-10-20
"The delight is definitely in the details in William B. Helmreich's The New York Nobody Knows: Walking 6,000 Miles in the City. Professor Helmreich, a sociologist at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York, invites readers on a romp through largely unexplored neighborhoods that is as entertaining as it is enlightening."--Sam Roberts, New York Times
Wrestling with Moses by Anthony Flint
Call Number: LaGuardia - Stacks - HT168 .N5 F55 2009
ISBN: 9781400066742
Publication Date: 2009-07-28
Power at the Roots: Gentrification, Community Gardens, and the Puerto Ricans of the Lower East Side by Miranda J. Martinez
Call Number: ONLINE EBOOK [Click on title to view book]
ISBN: 9780739146262
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
"Through direct engagement with gardeners, activists, and residents, Miranda Martinez shows the breadth and diversity of the community gardening movement and how these groups inserted themselves into local politics and development to create change. She demonstrates how real people are effective as social forces amid large scale urban change and looks at the complexities and contradictions involved in transformations of urban neighborhoods. One of the most important contributions of this study is its focus on the Puerto Ricans of the Lower East Side and their struggle to sustain its Latinidad. It goes deeply into the ethnic and cultural significance at the neighborhood and personal level to show the contradictory meanings of gentrification to Puerto Ricans and others, and more importantly, the ways that the history and culture of Puerto Ricans are ignored, devalued, and erased. By going to the grassroots, this book vividly demonstrates how Puerto Ricans interact with the global and local trends involved in gentrification and how the struggles against displacement can alter the boundaries of the process."--Amazon

Google Books

The search below is only a sample. You can delete the text in the search box and perform your own search for books available through Google Books.

Note: Some Google Books are available in full-text, while others only allow a limit preview or publication information only.

La Guardia and Wagner Archives

For research on NYC mayors, Queens local history and more: http://www.laguardiawagnerarchive.lagcc.cuny.edu/COLLECTIONS.aspx?ViwType=0

Library eBook Collections

These Library ebooks can be viewed 100% full-text and free to LaGuardia students & faculty. They can be viewed online by more than one person at a time and some can be downloaded, printed and saved as PDFs.

Demographics/Census Websites

Library Research Guide for Statistical Resources: http://library.laguardia.edu/webguide/statistics/

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This publication was discontinued in 2012. You can find the most current information by consulting the source cited in the Statistical Abstract. A librarian can help you find it.
American FactFinder (Census)
From the U.S. Census Bureau, American Fact Finder is a quick way to find demographic information about a community. Search by state, county, city, zip code and census tract. Information includes population, economic, social, and housing characteristics.
In the QuickStart, try searching for a term like "housing" and the location in which you are interested (e.g., Horry County, Loris...)
Census Homepage
Home page for the U.S. Census Bureau. Links to all data areas from this page. Use the menu bar (People, Business, Geography, etc.) to find your topic or use the search box.
County and City Databook 2007 (Census Bureau)
Provides statistical information for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000+ inhabitants and places with 2,500+ inhabitants. Also includes state-level data.
ChildStats.gov
Annual updates on the well-being of children and families in the United States across a range of domains. Click on Publications or Data Sources for key resources.

Library research guide

Library Research Guide for NYC Neighborhoods: http://library.laguardia.edu/webguide/nycneighborhoods

Phi Theta Kappa/Alpha Theta Phi - Honors in Action: 2014

Databases for Background Research

Recommended Articles

Call Numbers

Interlibrary Loan

WorldCat Search

Google Books

Find Books - Library Catalog Search

More recommended books

Google Books

La Guardia and Wagner Archives

Library eBook Collections

Recommended Readings from the HIA Guide

Demographics/Census Websites

Library research guide

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>