Student Success: Doing Academic Research

General services and resources that are available in the Library include:

• Personalized research help with a librarian at the Reference Desk from the when the Library opens until it closes.
• Copies of required textbooks for almost all courses available at the Check-out (Circulation) Desk for a limited loan.
• A well-maintained Reference Collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and manuals covering all subjects.
• Access to all electronic resources including article databases.
• Lap-tops, iPads, and calculators available for loan at the Media Desk.
• Computers available for use on a first-come, first served basis in the IT Lab.
• IT Lab consultants to assist with IT and software related questions.
• Self-service photocopiers are located on the first floor. Copies cost 10¢ per page.
• Institutional Archives containing primary documents related the business and life of theCollege.
   

There are many ways to approach the research process. As you gain experience doing research assignments you will gradually develop a process that works best for you. In the mean time, you might want to look at the steps below, which represent one way you can organize your research process.

1. Read and understand your assignment
   1. Email your professor any questions you may have OR
   2. Arrange an appoint to talk to your professor during his/her office hours
2. Identify and develop your topic. ...
   1. Do some background research to get a better understanding of your topic
      1. You may use Wikipedia for this stage.
      2. Consult the "Understanding the Topic -- Background Research" page of the Academic Research Basics guide.
   2. List the major issues, opinions, perspectives, etc. related to the topic.
   3. Write down terminology/vocabulary related to the topic.
   4. Begin to focus on one aspect of the topic.
   5. Draft a research question
3. Do a preliminary search for information ...
   1. You can again see what Wikipedia has but then go to the Library's databases to find authoritative information. Again try the "Understanding the Topic -- Background Research" page of the Academic Research Basics guide.
   2. Identify databases that will most likely give you articles or other data on your topic.
   3. It is strongly suggested that you seek help at the Reference Desk in the Library
4. Locate materials. ...
5. Evaluate your sources. ...
6. Make notes. ...
7. Write the first draft of your paper.
8. Give yourself a day or so and proofread your first draft and make changes as needed.
9. Write final draft that includes changes and or corrections from your proofreading.