These are just a few of the journals published by CUNY and its colleges.
Being a Scholar in the Digital Era by CUNY’s Office of Library Services is collaborating with CUNY’s Office of Research and the Research Foundation’s Office of Award Pre-Proposal Support to offer Faculty Funding Fridays, a new webinar series for the CUNY community. This is a recording of their first workshop:
Selecting a Venue for Journal Publication
September 25, 2020
Led by Megan Wacha (Scholarly Communications Librarian, Office of Library Services) and Tracey Revenson (Professor of Psychology at Hunter College and Editor-in-Chief of the Annals of Behavioral Medicine)
This webinar supports faculty researchers to make informed decisions when selecting a journal to publish their work, including how to find and evaluate potential journal venues (including the identification of predatory publishers), as well as understanding one’s rights as an author when negotiating contracts.
Don't forget to check the journals you used in your research. Maybe one of them is the perfect place for your article.
Find specific journals available through the LaGuardia Library. You can search by title or browse our journals by subject category.
Use the Library's OneSearch to find journals across all CUNY libraries. You can get in to most CUNY libraries with your ID in order to access the electronic and print journals of those other CUNY libraries. Reference staff there should be able to help you find a computer for viewing electronic journals that doesn't require a login from that campus.
Use LaGuardia Library databases. Many of them offer ways to search and browse for journals. Find databases by name on our alphabetical list of subscription databases.
Find open access journals on your topic by doing a subject search in DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals). You can also narrow down your results by language and country of publication, journals without fees, type of open license, and more.
Search the Serials Directory database to locate information on nearly 250,000 journal titles. This database's advanced search allows you to target journals by characteristics such as frequency of publication and publisher.
How to Get Research Published in Journals by
The author shows how to identify a suitable journal and how to plan, prepare and compile a paper that will satisfy its requirements.
Inking the Deal: A Guide for Successful Academic Publishing by 
53 Interesting Ways to Communicate Your Research by 
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: a guide to academic publishing success (2nd ed.) by 
Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks: a guide to academic publishing success (1st ed.) by 
Publish and Prosper: a strategy guide for students and researchers by
Intended to help readers succeed in academia by increasing their scholarly productivity, this book provides strategies for getting articles published quickly in reputable research journals. Rather than focusing on the basics of writing about results, this unique guidebook provides tips on how to approach research, maintain motivation, maximize productivity, and overcome common pitfalls so as to become productive scholars. The strategies reviewed will help readers successfully navigate through graduate school, get a good job, receive grants and promotions, and make important contributions to their field.
Practical Tips for Publishing Scholarly Articles: writing and publishing in the helping professions by 
Revising Your Dissertation: Advice from leading editors by
The aftermath of graduate school can be particularly trying for those under pressure to publish their dissertations. Written with good cheer and jammed with information, this lively guide offers hard-to-find practical advice on successfully turning a dissertation into a book or journal articles that will appeal to publishers and readers. It will help prospective authors master writing and revision skills, better understand the publishing process, and increase their chances of getting their work into print. This edition features new tips and planning tables to facilitate project scheduling, and a new foreword by Sandford G. Thatcher, Director of Penn State University Press.
Writing for Peer Reviewed Journals: strategies for getting published by 
Publish and Flourish: become a prolific scholar by 
First Steps in Journal Article Writing by
This concise and practical volume guides the reader through the process of article writing for submission to scholarly journals. It provides helpful examples and clarification of the steps involved and will prove to be an invaluable resource for both novice and experienced researchers. Chapters include selecting a topic, proposal design, research design and methodological considerations, submitting an article for publication and the role of critical readers.
Revising Your Dissertation: advice from leading editors by
The aftermath of graduate school can be particularly trying for those under pressure to publish their dissertations. Written with good cheer and jammed with information, this lively guide offers hard-to-find practical advice on successfully turning a dissertation into a book or journal articles that will appeal to publishers and readers. It will help prospective authors master writing and revision skills, better understand the publishing process, and increase their chances of getting their work into print. This edition features new tips and planning tables to facilitate project scheduling, and a new foreword by Sandford G. Thatcher, Director of Penn State University Press.