Skip to main content

Legal and Paralegal Research: General Online and Print Sources

  • Code of New York
    McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York Annotated
    (NY statutes in effect)
  • New York Legislature Session Laws
    McKinney's Session Law of New York (An unofficial record of laws passed by the New York legislature)
  • New York State Bill Search (on the State Assembly website):
    http://assembly.state.ny.us/leg
  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law
  • Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (directory of law firms)
  • West's New York Digest, 4th ed. (This digest can be used to locate case law)
  • New York Jurisprudence 2d (Legal encyclopedia covering New York civil and criminal law and procedure, statutes and administrative law.)
  • United States Code (Federal Statutes)
    (First volume contains the U.S. Constitution)
  • New York Reports 2d series (Official reporter of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals)
  • Appellate Division Reports (A.D. or AD and Appellate Division Reports 2d. This is the official reporter of opinions from the Appellate Division.)
  • Miscellaneous Reports (This is the official reporter of select opinions from the New York Supreme Court and other lower New York courts.)
  • New York Supplement 2d series (Unofficial reporter containing reported decisions of the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division, Supreme Court and other lower courts.)
  • West's New York Digest, 4th ed (locate case law using West's key number system.)

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

  • Shepard's New York Statute Citations: Citations for the New York state constitution, state statutes, administrative regulations and court rules.
  • Shepard's New York Miscellaneous Citations: Citations for reported cases from the New York Supreme Court, attorney general opinions and selected New York administrative opinions.
  • Shepard's New York Court of Appeals Citations: Citations for cases from New York's highest court

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

  • Westlaw: Keycite
  • Lexis/Nexis: Shepard's

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

  • Journal of Court Reporting
  • National Law Journal
  • New York Law Journal
  • New York State Bar Association Journal
  • Paralegal Today

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

  • The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
    (Source for legal citations)

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

  • Law.com Dictionary- http://dictionary.law.com
  • Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations (Useful for deciphering legal acronyms and abbreviations)
  • Black's Law Dictionary (standard legal dictionary)
    (Useful for deciphering legal acronyms and abbreviations)

**Compiled by Jane Devine - Revised 8/04
Revised by Alexandra Rojas - 2017

Loading ...
Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library