Skip to main content

Social Science Research Guide: History

Guide to help students research in Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

History Resources

LaGuardia Community College in the 1970s

News Sources

The New York Times 1851-2014 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Articles from The New York Times from 1851 to the last four years.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Collection of early English news media; includes newspapers, news books, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Primary source collection between 1801 and 1900.

Magazine or Scholarly Articles

Project Muse

A collection of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

History Reference Center

Collection of articles from history periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books.

Black Thought and Culture

Covers the non-fiction work of leading African Americans, from Colonial times to the present.

The Making of the Modern World

Digital images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world.

U.S. History In Context

Includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, as well as rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.

World History In Context

Contains primary sources and multi-media content aligned with state and national curriculum standards.

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library