Social Science Research Guide: Political Science

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.

CQ Researcher

Weekly reports on issues in the news.

Military and Government Collection

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

The New York Times (via nytimes.com — register using your LaGuardia email address)

1. Click on “Register” to create a NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. If your email address is from an eligible school, you will then see “Check your email.” Click on the link in our confirmation.
3. If you don’t get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your school email account to edu@nytimes.com.

• American Factfinder
• American Political Science Association
• The American Presidency Project
• Census Bureau
• Congress.gov
• Policy Archive
• Primary Documents in American History
• The World Factbook
   

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Theory and research in international affairs.

Opposing Viewpoints

Source for information on today’s most controversial and talked about social issues; features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, websites, and magazine & newspaper articles.

Social Sciences Full Text/Retrospective

Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook

Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought

Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and Global Perspectives

Encyclopedia of Military Science

A Novel Approach to Politics: Introducing Political Science Through Books, Movies, and Popular Culture

Anti-Science and the Assault on Democracy: Defending Reason in a Free Society

Our Damaged Democracy: We the People Must Act

Network Propaganda: Manipulation, Disinformation, and Radicalization in American Politics