Skip to main content

Social Science Research Guide: Sociology

Guide to help students research in Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, History, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

Sociology Resources

LaGuardia students on computers

News Sources

CQ Researcher

Weekly reports on issues in the news.

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Infotrac Newsstand

Articles from newspapers from around the world.

New York State Newspapers

Articles from newspapers published in the state of New York.

Nexis Uni

Access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.

Magazine or Scholarly Articles

SocINDEX with Full Text

Sociology research database.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

Covers free, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Black Thought and Culture

Covers the non-fiction work of leading African Americans, from Colonial times to the present.

JSTOR

Scholarly journal articles in area studies, art, business & economics, history, humanities, law, medicine & allied health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

LGBT Life with Full Text

Collection of LGBT monographs, journals, magazines and regional newspapers.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Source for information on today’s most controversial and talked about social issues; features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, websites, and magazine & newspaper articles.

Social Explorer

Demographic data, maps, and profile reports of the United States.

Social Sciences Full Text/Retrospective

Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library