Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Travel, Tourism & Hospitality Research Guide: Articles/Databases

Guide for all students doing research in our TT&H program as well as course specific research information when instructors request it.

Library status and services update

How to access the Library's online resources from home

What's a Database?

A database contains information that has been organized to make things easier and more efficient to find. Databases have advanced search features and tools to help you find and use the information in in them. Online magazine, journal, newspaper and trade publication articles as well as most ebooks and book chapters are found in databases. Databases can be searched individually or all at once in the Library's OneSearch (but know that OneSearch can give you huge numbers of results and offer fewer tools and search features).

Travel and Tourism Databases

If you're off-campus and not logged in to the LaGuardia Library website, you will see a login box to complete before you can access these databases.

Business and Marketing Databases

If you're off-campus and not logged in to the LaGuardia Library website, you will see a login box to complete before you can access these databases.

How to combine search terms in database searching

BOOLEAN SEARCHING

Boolean operators form the basis of database logic.

  • They connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.
  • The three basic boolean operators are: AND, OR, and NOT.

Why use Boolean operators?

  • To focus a search, particularly when your topic contains multiple search terms.
  • To connect various pieces of information to find exactly what you're looking for.
  • Example:  hotels AND guests

Use AND in a search to:

  • narrow your results
  • tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in the results
  • example: tours AND families AND Europe

The red triangle in the middle of the diagram below represents the result set for this search. It's the set of results containing all three search words.

Use OR in a search to:

  • connect two or more similar concepts (synonyms)
  • broaden your results, telling the database that ANY of your search terms can be present in the resulting records
  • example: hotels OR motels OR resorts

All three circles represent the result set for this search. It is a bigger set of results because any of those words fulfill the search criteria when using the OR operator.

Beach in the Dominican Republic

Sign up for Your Free Digital Subscriptions

General Information Databases

Database Search Tips

  1. Identify the key concepts and terms related to your topic. You may have more than one; for example, in a paper on the effect of COVID-19 on hotel business in the United States. For each concept, determine appropriate words or phrases, including synonyms, broader terms, related terms and narrower terms. For example, the term coronavirus is often used as a synonym for COVID-19. And you might be interested in other forms of lodging in addition to hotels, such as motels or resorts. And the terms U.S. and American also refer to the United States.
  2. Choose an appropriate database. The LaGuardia Library lists its databases by topic on the Databases by Subject page. For research in the Hospitality Industry, look especially at databases under Travel, Tourism & Hospitality and Business. There are brief descriptions of each database on the subject category pages to help you choose. If you're unsure, consult with a reference librarian. There's a lot of specialized business information in our databases, and it's not always obvious where to find it.
  3. Search using your keywords. If you get too many results, use database filters to narrow down your results by things like date, whether it's peer-reviewed or not, type of resource, and other aspects. 
  4. Combine search terms. To do this, you'll need to use what are called Boolean connectors AND & OR. This is best done using the database's advanced search mode. Learn more about this type of search.
  5. Search various forms of a word at the same time by using an asterisk *. For example, searching tour* will find articles containing the words tour, tours, tourist, or tourism.
  6. Put "quotation marks" around phrases. For example, "flight attendant" or "front desk".

How to find an article from a citation

To find an article from a citation:

  1. Go to our Journal Title Search web page
  2. Enter the journal title in the search box. This will give you a list of titles that match your search
  3. Click on the link for the journal you want, making sure it covers the year the article was published.
  4. Once you get to the database, choose the "search within journal option" and add keywords from the article title.
Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library