Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre Resources Guide: Online Resources

Online Theatre Resources

Academic Video Online: Premium

To access: Go to LaGuardia Website, and find the Library page.  Search on their Alphabetical Database: https://library.laguardia.edu/research/alphabetical/

Click: “Academic Video Online: Premium”. Enter LaGuardia credentials.

Search and Filter

Use Menu at upper left, and click “Collections”

 

There are MANY RESOURCES HERE, each with a lot of content, including (but not limited to):

Academic Video Online, Asian Film Online, BBC Video Collection, Black Studies Video, Broadway HD, Dance Online, Film Makers Library Online, Latin America in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, Music Online, PBS, Theater in Video

Contemporary LatinX Drama A compilation of Latinx Theatre Resources, including Online Streaming, Audio, and Video materials.  
Internet Archive Search "theatre" or "theatre productions" for available content. 
Kanopy

(Available beginning 9/3/2020)

To Access Kanopy:  Go to LaGuardia Website, and find the Library page.  Search on their Alphabetical Database: https://library.laguardia.edu/research/alphabetical/

Click on the Link for Kanopy.  Follow the prompts to sign in through LaGuardia, and use your LaGuardia email address for the account.  You will be able to choose your own password.

LaGuardia Theatre Program Productions

Production History: https://docs.google.com/document/d/19Y8zK0xYcsO0ZZR0uKgTaSLlu7-A_93tfCjsLZWcvDk/edit?usp=sharing

Production Videos including Bengal Tiger, Passing Strange, and Electra can be found on the "Streaming Productions" tab.

New York Public Library (NYPL)

Content accessible with an active NYPL Library Card.  If you do not have a card, you can apply for one here:   https://www.nypl.org/library-card

Multiple Databases available at: https://libguides.nypl.org/c.php?g=1015243&p=7354143

American Drama: Containing more than 1,100 dramatic works from the early 18th Century up to the beginning of the twentieth.

Digital Theatre Plus: Full length British theatre productions, interviews with cast and crew, and documentaries about the production. Includes productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, with teaching guides.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance: Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.

NYPL Digital Collections: Provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

Open Source Shakespeare: Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works.

Westport Country Playhouse

Educational Initiative Videos:

Twelfth Night: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vO482XWKvY [youtube.com]

A Raisin in the Sun: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_uk7iNJx_w [youtube.com]

Intimate Apparel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6UovSjQFLv8 [youtube.com]

Alexander Street Press

To access: Go to LaGuardia Website, and find the Library page.  Search on their Alphabetical Database: https://library.laguardia.edu/research/alphabetical/

Click: “Alexander Street Press”. Enter LaGuardia credentials.  Look through "Collections."

TDF A TDF curated roundup of the best performances to watch online for free or at low cost. 
Filmed on Stage A collection of plays and musicals (from Broadway, Off Broadway, and The West End) available to stream.  Some are free, some require payment.  

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library