Encyclopedia of African American Education by
The Encyclopedia of African American Education covers educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically black and predominantly black colleges and universities. Other entries cover individuals, organizations, associations, and publications that have had a significant impact on African American education. The Encyclopedia also presents information on public policy affecting the education of African Americans, including both court decisions and legislation. It includes a discussion of curriculum, concepts, theories, and alternative models of education, and addresses the topics of gender and sexual orientation, religion, and the media. The Encyclopedia also includes a Reader′s Guide, provided to help readers find entries on related topics. It classifies entries in sixteen categories: " Alternative Educational Models " Associations and Organizations " Biographies " Collegiate Education " Curriculum " Economics " Gender " Graduate and Professional Education " Historically Black Colleges and Universities " Legal Cases " Pre-Collegiate Education " Psychology and Human Development " Public Policy " Publications " Religious Institutions " Segregation/Desegregation. Some entries appear in more than one category. This two-volume reference work will be an invaluable resource not only for educators and students but for all readers who seek an understanding of African American education both historically and in the 21st century.
Diversity Regimes : Why talk is not enough to fix racial inequality at universities by
As a major, public flagship university in the American South, so-called "Diversity University" has struggled to define its commitments to diversity and inclusion, and to put those commitments into practice. Sociologist James M. Thomas draws on more than two years of ethnographic fieldwork at DU to illustrate the conflicts and contingencies between a core set of actors at DU over what diversity is and how it should be accomplished.
Social Justice Issues and Racism in the College Classroom by
The focus of Social Justice Issues and Racism in the College Classroom is faculty and students of color at postsecondary institutions and the racial challenges they encounter in college classrooms. To achieve this aim, the book highlights the voices of various racial/ethnic groups of faculty and students, including international scholars. Additionally, the book will inform and bring attention to non-minority faculty and students of social justice issues related to race in the classroom and offer suggestions on how to be supportive of people of color. Several frameworks will be utilized in this book to assist readers in better understanding ideas, concepts, and practices. Specifically, a social justice framework, critical race theory, and White privilege are used to better explore the featured topics.
'I Have Been Waiting': Race and U.S. higher education by
While much progress has been made towards the quest for racial equality in the education system, there is still much work to be done. In 'I Have Been Waiting', Jennifer Simpson pays explicit attention to the ways in which systems of higher education have excluded people of colour, and how white students and teachers might better address issues of race and racism in educational settings. Simpson's argument is wide-ranging and incisive. She examines the role of history and the link between racial agency and racial memories; she probes epistemology, claims to authority, and the limits of a knowledge base that draws primarily on what white people know; she analyzes cross-racial dialogues - including barriers and steps to implementation - to reveal the prevalence of assimilationist approaches; and she reiterates the importance of making whiteness visible. Methodologically, Simpson draws heavily on autoethnography and social analysis, but also provides an excellent historical overview of the issues central to race and higher education, as well a rigorous examination of theoretical discourse from fields including pedagogy, whiteness studies, and feminist thought. 'I Have Been Waiting' is an important work, confirming that sustained attention to issues of race in higher education is both difficult and necessary.
On Being Included: Racism and diversity in institutional life by
What does diversity do? What are we doing when we use the language of diversity? Sara Ahmed offers an account of the diversity world based on interviews with diversity practitioners in higher education, as well as her own experience of doing diversity work. Diversity is an ordinary, even unremarkable, feature of institutional life. Yet diversity practitioners often experience institutions as resistant to their work, as captured through their use of the metaphor of the "brick wall." On Being Included offers an explanation of this apparent paradox. It explores the gap between symbolic commitments to diversity and the experience of those who embody diversity. Commitments to diversity are understood as "non-performatives" that do not bring about what they name. The book provides an account of institutional whiteness and shows how racism can be obscured by the institutionalization of diversity. Diversity is used as evidence that institutions do not have a problem with racism. On Being Included offers a critique of what happens when diversity is offered as a solution. It also shows how diversity workers generate knowledge of institutions in attempting to transform them.
Beyond Stock Stories and Folktales: African Americans' Paths to STEM Fields by
Ask practically any academic department chair why they do not have more African Americans among faculty members and they generally respond with stock stories or folktales, which stimulated the title of this volume. Stock stories are akin to grand narratives that explain 'why things are' in ways that satisfy those in dominant positions. Frierson and Tate argue it is time to move beyond these. The purpose of the book is to provide historical, conceptual, and empirically-based analyses focused on the development of African Americans in STEM fields. There is rarely any real understanding of the uneven contours of the education pipeline or the transition to academic life experienced in these situations and this volume will shed light on opportunities to advance African American attainment in STEM disciplines throughout the academic and professional spectra, and the mitigation of disparities that continue to be so prevalent.
Underserved Populations at Historically Black Colleges and Universities: The pathway to diversity, equity, and inclusion by
This book focuses on the lived experiences of underserved student and faculty populations at historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and the implications these experiences have for higher education policy. Contributors discuss the contexts and experiences of students and faculty who navigate the political and social spaces of HBCUs while supporting healthy personal and robust professional goals. The stigmas and social nuances that plague students and faculty of colordo not dissolve with their arrival at an HBCU, but rather they transform into a new set of challenges that demand the attention of researchers. Taking into account institutional supports, identity development, and socialization patterns, this book sheds light on what the experiences of higher education's "outsiders" mean for future research and practice, while emphasizing issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
African Americans and College Choice : The influence of family and school by
Assesses the influence of family and school on African American students' college decision-making processes.
Black Male Collegians: Increasing access, retention, and persistence in higher education by
Improving college access and success among Black males has garnered tremendous attention. Many social scientists have noted that Black men account for only 4.3% of the total enrollment at 4-year postsecondary institutions in the United States, the same percentage now as in 1976. Furthermore, two thirds of Black men who start college never finish. The lack of progress among Black men in higher education has caused researchers, practitioners, and policymakers to become increasingly focused on ways to increase their access and success. Offering recommendations and strategies to help advance success among Black males, this monograph provides a comprehensive synthesis and analysis of factors that promote the access, retention, and persistence of Black men at diverse institutional types (e.g., historically Black colleges and universities, predominantly White institutions, and community colleges). It delineates institutional policies, programs, practices, and other factors that encourage the success of Black men in postsecondary education.
Use the Library's OneSearch below to find more books, videos, and articles. Use filters on the left side of the screen to limit your search. You can filter by Resource Type (just ebooks, just articles, etc.), by Date, and more. Check out our video tutorial for a brief overview of OneSearch.
Here are some subject terms you might find useful to get started:
If your focus is articles, you'll get more results and better search capabilities if you use a subject database. Here are some targeted databases for researching African Americans and education:
Little Rock: Race and resistance at Central High School by
A political history of the most famous desegregation crisis in America The desegregation crisis in Little Rock is a landmark of American history: on September 4, 1957, after the Supreme Court struck down racial segregation in public schools, Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus called up the National Guard to surround Little Rock Central High School, preventing black students from going in. On September 25, 1957, nine black students, escorted by federal troops, gained entrance. With grace and depth, Little Rock provides fresh perspectives on the individuals, especially the activists and policymakers, involved in these dramatic events. Looking at a wide variety of evidence and sources, Karen Anderson examines American racial politics in relation to changes in youth culture, sexuality, gender relations, and economics, and she locates the conflicts of Little Rock within the larger political and historical context. Anderson considers how white groups at the time, including middle class women and the working class, shaped American race and class relations. She documents white women's political mobilizations and, exploring political resentments, sexual fears, and religious affiliations, illuminates the reasons behind segregationists' missteps and blunders. Anderson explains how the business elite in Little Rock retained power in the face of opposition, and identifies the moral failures of business leaders and moderates who sought the appearance of federal compliance rather than actual racial justice, leaving behind a legacy of white flight, poor urban schools, and institutional racism.
Reparation and Reconciliation : The rise and fall of integrated higher education by
Reparation and Reconciliation is the first book to reveal the nineteenth-century struggle for racial integration on U.S. college campuses. As the Civil War ended, the need to heal the scars of slavery, expand the middle class, and reunite the nation engendered a dramatic interest in higher education by policy makers, voluntary associations, and African Americans more broadly. Formed in 1846 by Protestant abolitionists, the American Missionary Association united a network of colleges open to all, designed especially to educate African American and white students together, both male and female. The AMA and its affiliates envisioned integrated campuses as a training ground to produce a new leadership class for a racially integrated democracy. Case studies at three colleges--Berea College, Oberlin College, and Howard University--reveal the strategies administrators used and the challenges they faced as higher education quickly developed as a competitive social field. Through a detailed analysis of archival and press data, the author demonstrates that pressures between organizations--including charities and foundations--and the emergent field of competitive higher education led to the differentiation and exclusion of African Americans, Appalachian whites, and white women from coeducational higher education and illuminates the actors and the strategies that led to the persistent salience of race over other social boundaries.
Why Busing Failed : Race, media, and the national resistance to school desegregation by
In the decades after the landmark Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision, busing to achieve school desegregation became one of the nation's most controversial civil rights issues. Why Busing Failed is the first book to examine the pitched battles over busing on a national scale, focusing on cities such as Boston, Chicago, New York, and Pontiac, Michigan. This groundbreaking book shows how school officials, politicians, the courts, and the media gave precedence to the desires of white parents who opposed school desegregation over the civil rights of black students. This broad and incisive history of busing features a cast of characters that includes national political figures such as then-president Richard Nixon, Chicago mayor Richard J. Daley, and antibusing advocate Louise Day Hicks, as well as some lesser-known activists on both sides of the issue--Boston civil rights leaders Ruth Batson and Ellen Jackson, who opposed segregated schools, and Pontiac housewife and antibusing activist Irene McCabe, black conservative Clay Smothers, and Florida governor Claude Kirk, all supporters of school segregation. Why Busing Failed shows how antibusing parents and politicians ultimately succeeded in preventing full public school desegregation.
The Legacy of Desegregation: The Struggle for Equality in Higher Education by
The book analyzes the struggle of African Americans to gain access and equity in higher education in the United States. It chronicles some of the history prior to court ordered segregation and traces the mandate to desegregate by following the Adams v. Richardson (1973) case, which ordered the dismantling of dual systems of higher education.
The Black Campus Movement: Black Students and the Racial Reconstitution of Higher Education, 1965-1972 by
This book provides the first national study of this intense and challenging struggle which disrupted and refashioned institutions in almost every state. It also illuminates the context for one of the most transformative educational movements in American history through a history of black higher education and black student activism before 1965.
Jim Crow Campus: Higher education and the struggle for a new southern social order by
2020 Frederic W. Ness Book Award Winner (AACU) 2018 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Finalist in Education This well-researched volume explores how the Black freedom struggle and the anti-Vietnam War movement dovetailed with faculty and student activism in the South to undermine the traditional role of higher education and bring about social change. It uses the battles between students, faculty, presidents, trustees, elected officials, and funding agencies to explain how Black and White southern campuses transformed themselves into reputable academic centers. Book Features: Helps institutional leaders to understand the benefits and challenges of dissolving the walls around the ivory or ebony tower. Offers a complex analysis of the evolution of higher education in the South. Demonstrates how changes in higher education precipitated wide-ranging changes in southern society. Examines contemporary arguments about the breadth and limits of first amendment rights and academic freedom on college and university campuses.
The Freedom Schools by
Jon N. Hale weaves a social history of the Mississippi Freedom Schools from the perspective of former students and teachers. Having turned their training into decades of activism, they speak on their locally organized, widely transmitted curriculum and offer key strategies for integrating the school system and politically engaging today's youth.
"At the dawn of the 20th century, when 8.5 million blacks constituted about 12 percent of the population of the United States, according to the distinguished black scholar, William Edward Burghardt (W. E. B.) Du Bois, "not a single first‑grade college in America undertook to give any considerable scientific attention to the American Negro." Yet between 1897 and 1903, the Department of Labor ... published nine investigations, of varying length, importance, and point of view, about the condition of blacks in America. Du Bois himself prepared three of these studies. When, in 1906, Du Bois prepared another study for the Commissioner of Labor which he considered his finest sociological work, it was destroyed, willfully, according to its author. The fate of this 10th and last study raises fascinating questions.”
Grossman, Jonathan. Black Studies in the Department of Labor 1897-1907. Monthly Labor Review, vol. 97, no 6, June 1974, pp. 17-27.
The above article is also available on the Dept. of Labor's website [article] and the Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries' Social Welfare History Project website [article].
The first Black Studies Department was established at San Francisco State in response to a months long student strike.
A Black Studies Program was implemented by UC Berkeley administration on January 13, 1969.
In 1969, the university established the African and African American Studies Department, then called the Department of Afro-American Studies.
In 1969, Washington University began offering courses under the rubric of Black Studies.