LibGuides: Land Acknowledgment, First Nations of New York, Native American Histories: First Nations of New York

Collections and Sets on First Nations before Independence

Lessons & Resources from the National Museum of the American Indian
HAUDENOSAUNEE GUIDE FOR EDUCATORS
HFL Native American Collection
This is a collection of dual language texts printed in Abenaki, Algonquian, Cherokee, Chinook, Choctaw, Cree, Crow, Dakota, Delaware, Eskimo, Haida...
more...less...
Hidatsa, Iowa, Kutenai, Laguna, Massachuset, Mohawk, Muskokee, Nahuatl, Narragansett, Nez Perce�s, Ojibwa/Chippewa, Oneida, Osage, Ottawa, Seneca, Shawnee, Siksika, Slavé (Tenni), Taensa, and Timucua languages.
The Records of the Albany Commissioner of Indian Affairs, 1678-1755: An Integrated Digital Database
Sullivan/Clinton Map Sets
These map sets show the shifts in land claims and territories with period documents.
Thanksgiving Library of Congress Primary Source Set
Thanksgiving Library of Congress Teacher's Guide
The First Thanksgiving

Artifacts

Artifact image collection from NYS Digital Collections
Artifact image collection from NYS Digital Collections holds 47 images of artifacts mainly from the Seneca and Mohawk Haudenosaunee groups. Items all have assumed dates near 1850.

Artifact Collection from the National Museum of the American Indian
This link is to the search portal of the collection, where one can search by place or time. Warning: the collection is huge with many many artifacts and navigation is made easier by knowing either the type of artifact you are attempting to find, or by narrowing the search by time period. For instance, there were ~580 items from New York without limiting by item type or time period.

6 Nations of the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) Confederacy

From Onondaga Nation: People of the Hills website: http://www.onondaganation.org/culture/homes

Onondaga Nation - People of the Hills
Nation website includes cultural artifacts, land rights documents, and video resources, as well as a nation timeline.
Cayuga Nation - People of the Great Swamp
Mohawk (Kanienʼkehá꞉ka) Nation: Keeper of the Eastern Door
The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the governing body of the Mohawk Nation that liaises with the United States government.

Read about how Mohawk 'skywalkers' contributed to the construction of skyscrapers around New York City. Around 800 Mohawk ironworkers and families once lived in what was then known as "Little Caughnawaga", and is now known as Boerum Hill. An inscription above the door of a bar that some frequented in the neighborhood read "The greatest ironworkers in the world pass through these doors."

Read about Richard Oakes, a Mohawk activist who spearheaded the more than one year long occupation of Alcatraz Island in San Francisco bay as part of the Red Power movement during the late 1960s.

Oneida Indian Nation
Seneca Nation: Keeper of the Western Door
Tuscarora People of the Six Nations
Oyate
Oyate is a Native organization working to see that our lives and histories are portrayed with honesty and integrity, and that all people know that our stories belong to us.
Ganondagan Community
Just southeast of Rochester, New York, in the town of Victor, lies Ganondagan (ga·NON·da·gan), the site of a Native American community that was a flourishing, vibrant center for the Seneca people.

Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in NYS | The Haudenosaunee

NY Heritage Digital Collection | Recognizing Women's Right to Vote in New York State: The Haudenosaunee

Cayugas in Constitutional Era

Beginning of Ithaca Water Color Painting
This view of the entrance to the Cascadilla Creek gorge shows the Warrior's Trail in the foreground. The trail entered present-day Tompkins County from the north and included a segment connecting Cayuga Lake to Owego Street (now known as State/Martin Luther King Jr. Street). This path was an early migration route for the Cayugas, as well as European traders and settlers. Norris wrote in detail about the Warrior's Trail in his 1944 book, Old Indian Trails in Tompkins County. The log cabin of Peter Hinepaugh, one of the first settlers in 1789, is shown on the left. The Little Pepper Mill at the creek had a capacity of 25 bushels a day. Quigg's Log Cabin Store is also shown. David Quigg was Ithaca's first permanent merchant.
The History Center in Tompkins County holds copyright and reproductions rights. Prior written permission is required for any use of this image.
Burning of Coreorgonel by Colonel Dearborn, September 24, 1779
Coreorgonel was a small village near Buttermilk Falls and home to the Tutelos and other remnants of subject tribes of the Cayuga Indians. In 1779, both the Cayugas and the Senecas, allies of the British during the American Revolution, saw their numbers massacred by General Sullivan's army expedition, who set out with orders of destruction from General Washington. Here, Norris depicts the village's fiery end by Colonel Dearborn's detachment.
The History Center in Tompkins County holds copyright and reproductions rights. Prior written permission is required for any use of this image.