Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
photo credit: http://www.flazingo.com/ per these licensing terms https://www.flazingo.com/creativecommons
An excellent way to begin your search for career information is to check the resources on this page.
Occupational information includes the nature of the work, the entry requirements, the rewards and benefits, and the outlook for the future. If your career interests are linked to a particular industry, such as travel and tourism or food service, you might want to check the Industry and Company section too.
These databases will give you full-text access to published articles (many that are ordinarily behind a paywall). Use keyword searching for best results.
Academic Search Complete
Journal articles, abstracts, ebooks, and magazine & newspaper articles, covering all subjects. Great for conducting a search of potential careers.
Credo Reference: Jobs & Careers
Reference library of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauri.
Use the iExpert Summary Report to study high-level industry information before a job interview. When searching iExpert Summaries, be sure to look at "Role Specific Questions" for examples of questions to ask when in a job interview.
Access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.
Suggested keywords for searching the catalog and databases
Here are some sample keyword searches to use in OneSeach or in the databases to find more information:
vocational guidance and [career] (e.g., vocational guidance and nursing)
employment and [major] (e.g., employment and liberal arts)
Also: careers, professions, occupations
Career databases and websites
Career resources and workforce information, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor
Center for Career & Professional Development
LaGuardia's own career site for current students and alumni.
PrepSTEP® for Colleges
Provides test preparation and practice tests (such as TOEFL, GED, TEAS, CNA, TASC, CLEP, and firefighters’ exam) as well as self-testing on math, writing, and grammar. Job & Career Accelerator provide tools and guidance to achieve your career goals. Must create an account to use.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This Department of Labor resource gives job profiles that include descriptions of the nature of the work, required education and skills, salary ranges and forecasts about job growth in the new few years.
Free access to all students, staff, and faculty. Video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. Access via the link with your LaGuardia email credentials or through the My LaGuardia portal.
Books and eBooks
The Library has many books and ebooks about careers. While you're off campus, search our Ebook Resources.
It's Who You Know by Who do you need around you? Networking is an essential skill; it's the key to your success. So why are so many of our connections superficial and transactional? And why do they get us nowhere in our personal or professional life? Maybe because we've lost sight of the fact that it's not about the quantity of connections you make, but the quality of the relationships you build and nuture. From internationally-acclaimed entrepreneur and Fortune 500 mentor Janine Garner, It's Who You Know shows you how to build, manage and leverage your power network to create opportunities and drive success. Networking still matters, but your network matters even more. With It's Who You Know, you can learn to connect with those who will add real value to your professional and personal development. Originally published in 2017, this book has been reviewed and redesigned to become part of the Wiley Be Your Best series - aimed at helping readers acheive professional and personal success.
Publication Date: 2019-01-16
Help Them Grow or Watch Them Go by The new edition of the bestselling employee development classic includes advice on talent retention in the gig economy, and a new chapter on creating a career development culture in your organization. Study after study confirms that career development is the single most powerful tool managers have for driving retention, engagement, productivity, and results. But most managers feel like they just don't have time for more meetings. This book offers a better way: frequent, short conversations with employees about their career goals that can be integrated seamlessly into the normal course of business. Beverly Kaye and Julie Winkle Giulioni identify three broad types of conversations that will increase employees' awareness of their strengths, weaknesses, and interests; point out where their organization and their industry are headed; and help them pull all of that together to design their personalized career plans. And the new chapter includes an assessment so you can measure how well your current culture supports employee development--and how to improve it.
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library