Skip to main content

Constitution Day: LaGuardia Library Resources

This guide provides resources that help explore the U.S. Constitution.

Video ideas

The Library offers DVD and  video materials  available for loan or use in the Media Services Lab.  These titles can be located in the Library Catalog. These same titles may also be available as part of the Streaming Media program which can be accessed from anywhere on campus.  The Streaming Media listing can be found at:  http://media.laguardia.edu/search/.

 

Here are some suggestions:

A DVD History of the U.S. Constitution

  New   York, NY : Distributed by Ambrose Video Publishing, 2005.

  4   videodiscs (224 min.)

DISC 1: Program 1: The seeds of the Constitution (1619-1739) ; Program 2: Founding the Constitution (1750-1774) -- DISC 2: Program 3: Writing the Constitution and the Bill of Rights (1774-1791) ; Program 4: Testing the Constitution (1793-1803) -- DISC 3: Program 5: The Constitution survives (1810-1861) ; Program 6: The Constitution is expanded (1865-1918) -- DISC 4: Program 7: The Constitution in a changing world (1919-1961) ; Program 8: Constitutional reform and controversy (1961-2005).

Location:  LaGuardia Media - DVD 423

Our Constitution  [videorecording]   : a conversation

 Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands, c2005.

  1 videodisc (30 min.)

Introduction -- Teaching the Constitution -- Why have a Constitution? -- Helping to solve problems -- The power of precedent -- Moral values/decision-making -- Separation of powers -- Relevance today -- Federalism -- Individual liberty vs. security -- Most influential cases -- Court decision-making -- Conclusion.

 Location:  LaGuardia Media DVD 393

Book and E-Book ideas

Books  and e-books can be found in the Library Catalog under the search term "United States Constitution."  Searches can also be made by a particular Amendment or issues relating to the constitution such as "First Amendment" or "gun control and the Constitution."

Here are some sample titles to consider:

 

 

Maddex,   Robert L.,  The U.S. Constitution A to Z.   

Washington,   D.C. : CQ Press, c2002.

LaGuardia - Reference - KF4548 .M33   2002

 

 

 Fallon,   Richard H., The Dynamic Constitution : an Introduction to American Constitutional   Law.    

Cambridge,   UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.

LaGuardia Stacks - KF4550.F35 2004

 

We the People

Dahlin, Donald C.  We the People: a Brief Introduction to the Constitution and Its Interpretation.

E-Book - Palgrave Collection. -javascript:open_window

book cover

Strauss, David A.  The Living Constitution. 

oxford University Press, 2010.

E-book - ebrary Collection

 

Schultz, David A.  Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution.

Facts on File, 2009.

E-Book - MyILibrary Collection.

 

Databases to Use

The Library has several databases that can help with articles and background information about the United States Constitution.  These databases can be accessed anywhere on campus and can be used off-campus after a sign-in using student email account information.  All databases are listed and can be accessed from the Library’s Home Page: http://library.laguardia.edu/research/articles.  Select a subject category to find specific database titles.

Here are a few to try:

History Reference Center  - Full-text access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines and journals. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.

Social Sciences Full Text - Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. 

Academic Search Complete -  This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 publications, including more than 7,300 scholarly journals.

 Military and Government Collection- Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, including a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other pertinent content.

For other ideas or any help in using the databases be sure to ask at the Library's Reference Desk or Email the Library for help at: http://library.laguardia.edu/ask.

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library