LibGuides: Comic Books and Graphic Novels: Articles

Library of Congress Subject Headings

American wit and humor, Pictorial

Caricature and cartoons

Comic books, strips, etc.

Comic books, strips, etc., History and Criticism

Comic books, strips, etc., United States

Graphic novels

Graphic novels, United States

Google Scholar

Wanto go to Cartoon School?

Center for Cartoon Studies

A few readings to check out

Art Spiegelman: golden age superheroes were shaped by the rise of fascism
Spiegelman, Art. "Golden age superheroes were shaped by the rise of fascism." The Guardian. 17 August 2019.
more...less...
This provides an overview on the history of American superhero comics, its creators, and their political and social relevance.
Power Up For Pride With LGBTQ+ Superheroes!

Arts related databases - try searching here with keywords

Communications and Mass Media Collection
Access to full-text journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics
JSTOR
Interdisciplinary full text archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Gale Literary Sources (Artemis or Literature Resource Center)
Formerly Literature Resource Center. Full-text access to author biographies, literary criticism, bibliographies, and timelines of literary and historical events. Includes Full text access to the entire Shakespearean Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism collections, as well as Twayne Author Series. Searchable by author and by the title of the work.

General Databases - search here with keywords such as "superheroes"

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized reference encyclopedia entries.
Gale Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles with coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
LexisNexis
Provides full-text access to over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, and non-English language sources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2009)
Sage Communication Studies

Interested in Wonder Woman?

I'd love to talk to you about the history of Wonder Woman! Contact: Ann Matsuuchi, LaGuardia Community College Library (amatsuuchi@lagcc.cuny.edu)

Credo Topic Pages

Brings together various resources available through the library's subscription databases. Designed by Credo Reference, topic pages provide excellent background material including definitions, encyclopedia entries, scholarly articles and relevant e-books.

Comics