Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
E-books from the Library Collection
These Library e-books can be viewed fully online by multiple users and even downloaded in some cases.
American Literature Readings in the Twenty-First Century by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
"An energetically interdisciplinary project, this book incorporates queer theory, disability studies, and digital humanities into well-informed, new readings on post-WWII authors including Bruce Andrews, Thomas Pynchon, and Sylvia Plath"
Art Practice in a Digital Culture by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
"In this unique book, artists, art historians, art theorists and curators of new media reflect on the idea of art as research and how it has changed practice. Intrinsic to the volume is an investigation of the advances in creative practice made possible via artists engaging directly with technology or via collaborative partnerships between practitioners and technological experts, ranging through a broad spectrum of advanced methods from robotics through rapid prototyping to the biological sciences."--Amazon
Debates in the Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2012-01-09
"A substantial collection . . . [whose] contributors include most of the scholars who have been most prominent in the emergence of digital humanities over the past few years." —Times Literary Supplement; Matthew K. Gold is assistant professor of English at New York City College of Technology.
Digital Research in the Study of Classical Antiquity by
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
"This book explores the challenges and opportunities presented to Classical scholarship by digital practice and resources. Drawing on the expertise of a community of scholars who use innovative methods and technologies, it shows that traditionally rigorous scholarship is as central to digital research as it is to mainstream Classical Studies. The chapters in this edited collection cover many subjects, including text and data markup, data management, network analysis, pedagogical theory and the Social and Semantic Web, illustrating the range of methods that enrich the many facets of the study of the ancient world."--Amazon
Humanities in the Twenty-First Century by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
What is the value of the arts and humanities today? This question points to a long and extensively discussed dilemma. Eleonora Belfiore and Anna Upchurch have compiled a collection of original essays that offer a novel approach to tackling this difficult question. These contributions offer examples that show that, rather than relying on the narrowly utilitarian notion of ’research impact’ that has developed within current educational policies and debates, it may be more appropriate to look at the ways in which arts and humanities research is already engaged in collaborative endeavours, both within academia and beyond, in order to address the big ethical, political, technological and environmental challenges of contemporary life.
Interactive Storytelling by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Joint International Conference on Interactive Digital Storytelling (3rd : 2010 : Edinburgh, Scotland); Keynotes -- Characters and decision making -- Story evaluation and analysis -- Story generation -- Arts and humanities -- Narrative theories and modelling -- Systems -- Applications -- Posters -- Demonstrations -- Workshops -- Tutorial.
Interactive Storytelling by
Publication Date: 2011-11-14
Interactive Storytelling - Fourth International Conference on Interactive Digital Storytelling, ICIDS 2011, Vancouver, Canada, November 28 – 1 December, 2011. Proceedings
Interfaces of Perfomance by
Publication Date: 2009-11-28
"This collection of essays and interviews investigates current practices that expand our understanding and experience of performance through the use of state-of-the-art technologies. It brings together leading practitioners, writers and curators who explore the intersections between theatre, performance and digital technologies, challenging expectations and furthering discourse across the disciplines."--Amazon
Literary Education and Digital Learning by
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
Provides insight into the most relevant issues in literary education and digital learning, covering literary aspects both from educational and research perspectives.
Reading Machines by
Publication Date: 2011-11-30
"Stephen Ramsay's intriguing study of computational text analysis examines how computers can be used as "reading machines" to open up entirely new possibilities for literary critics."--Amazon
Text Editing, Print and the Digital World by
Publication Date: 2009-01-28
"Traditional critical editing, defined by the paper and print limitations of the book, is now considered by many to be inadequate for the expression and interpretation of complex works of literature. At the same time, digital developments are permitting us to extend the range of text objects we can reproduce and investigate critically - not just books, but newspapers, draft manuscripts and inscriptions on stone. Some exponents of the benefits of new information technologies argue that in future all editions should be produced in digital or online form. By contrast, others point to the fact that print, after more than five hundred years of development, continues to set the agenda for how we think about text, even in its non-print forms.This important book brings together leading textual critics, scholarly editors, technical specialists and publishers to discuss whether and how existing paradigms for developing and using critical editions are changing to reflect the increased commitment to and assumed significance of digital tools and methodologies."--Amazon
The Laws of Cool by
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
"Knowledge work is now the reigning business paradigm and affects even the world of higher education. But what perspective can the knowledge of the humanities and arts contribute to a world of knowledge work whose primary mission is business? And what is the role of information technology as both the servant of the knowledge economy and the medium of a new technological cool? In The Laws of Cool, Alan Liu reflects on these questions as he considers the emergence of new information technologies and their profound influence on the forms and practices of knowledge." --Amazon
Understanding Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
"Confronting the digital revolution in academia, this book examines the application of new computational techniques and visualisation technologies in the Arts & Humanities. Uniting differing perspectives, leading and emerging scholars discuss the theoretical and practicalchallenges that computation raises for these disciplines"
More e-books to check out online
These e-books are either freely available or available through CUNY libraries. If the link takes you to a search page in the catalog CUNY+, click the "electronic resource" link on left side of the page.
A Companion to Digital Humanities
Schreibman, Susan; Ray Siemens; John Unsworth, eds. 2004
A foundational primer in digital humanities by disciplinary experts, computer scientists, and library and information studies specialists.
A Companion to Digital Literary Studies
Siemens, Ray, and Susan Schreibman, eds. 2008
Collected articles by scholars, theorists, and practitioners of humanities computing, "A Companion to Digital Literary Studies is fundamentally a narrative of what may be called the scene of 'new media encounter' — in this case, between the literary and the digital."
A Survey of Digital Humanities Centers in the United States
November 2008 CLIR survey that attempts to define what makes a Digital Humanities Center and the services offered.
digitalculturebooks is an imprint of the University of Michigan Press dedicated to publishing innovative work in new media studies and digital humanities. All are available to read for free online.
Hacking the Academy
A hack is a "clever gaming of complex systems to produce an unprecedented result." As computer systems and the academy hybridize, it is up to those who experiment with new approaches and tools to "steer the future of academia." This crowd-sourced collection of articles, blog posts, and other texts was edited together in one week in May 2010, and then further edited as an MPublishing e-book.
Low-cost 3D Printing for Science, Education & Sustainable Development
Contains excellent introductory chapters and overviews; useful for all disciplines, lots of project ideas and basics. http://sdu.ictp.it/3D/
Editors: Enrique Canessa, Carlo Fonda and Marco Zennaro
Publisher: ICTP—The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, 2013 ICTP Science Dissemination Unit, e-mail: email@example.com
Printing history: May 2013, First Edition
Print Books in CUNY Libraries
These links will arrive at results in CUNY+ for print resources housed physically in the LaGuardia CC Library. Call numbers are provided.
Journals: General & Interdisciplinary
These journals publish articles broadly applicable to all disciplines engaged in digital humanities, with articles ranging in focus from detailed descriptions of computer coding for data mining to literary analyses of video games. Hover the cursor over each link for the journal description and coverage.
DHQ: Digital Humanities Quarterly
"An open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities." Published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO).
Full Text online Spring 2007-Present
Journal of Computer Assisted Learning
"The Journal of Computer Assisted Learning is an international peer-reviewed journal which covers the whole range of uses of information and communication technology to support learning and knowledge exchange."
Free full text online Spring 1997-Present
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
A broadly interdisciplinary" web-based, peer-reviewed scholarly journal. Its focus is social science research on computer-mediated communication via the Internet, the World Wide Web, and wireless technologies."
Free online full text 1995-present.
Journal of Digital Humanities
The Journal of Digital Humanities is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features the best scholarship, tools, and conversations produced by the digital humanities community in the previous trimester.
Journal of the Chicago Colloquium on Digital Humanities and Computer Science
The peer reviewed articles published in the Journal are drawn from paper and poster presentations given at the annual Chicago Colloquium on Digital Humanities and Computer Science (DHCS). The goal of the colloquium is to bring together researchers and scholars in the humanities and computer science to examine the current state of digital humanities as a field of intellectual inquiry and to identify and explore new directions and perspectives for future research.
Language Resources and Evaluation
Formerly Computers and the Humanities (1966-2004)
"Language Resources and Evaluation is the first publication devoted to the acquisition, creation, annotation, and use of language resources, together with methods for evaluation of resources, technologies, and applications."
Free full text online 2005-Present
Journals: Individual Disciplines
These journals focus their attention on digital humanities scholarship within particular disciplines, such as classics, literature, or philosophy.
Ethics and Information Technology
"Ethics and Information Technology is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the dialogue between moral philosophy and the field of information and communication technology (ICT)."
Online Free Full Text 1999-Present
Literary and Linguistic Computing
Literary and Linguistic Computing is an international journal which publishes material on all aspects of computing and information technology applied to literature and language research and teaching.
Full Text Online 1986-Present (on-campus access)
Techné: Research in Philosophy and Technology
"Techné is devoted to the philosophical analysis of technological systems and to reflections on the art, craft, science and engineering of making things and getting things done in the world."
Full text online Winter 2003-Fall 2009
Techné: Journal of the Society for Philosophy and Technology
Fall 2000-Fall 2003
Society for Philosophy and Technology
Fall 1995-Summer 1999
Journals: Library & Publishing
"D-Lib Magazine is an electronic publication with a focus on digital library research and development, including new technologies, applications, and contextual social and economic issues."
Journal of Electronic Publishing
"The Journal of Electronic Publishing (JEP) is a forum for research and discussion about contemporary publishing practices, and the impact of those practices upon users."
Free full text online 1995-Present
Humanist Studies & the Digital Age
This peer-reviewed e-journal is devoted to the reformulation of received philological and philosophical ideas of writing and reading literary works, motivated by the advent of electronic texts.
DH Now Editors' Choice
DH Now Editors' choice is a hybrid between an edited journal and an rss feed: editors sift through a wide variety of blogs, tweets, web-pages, and institutional sites, and select the best of what is currently evolving in digital humanities. Updated daily.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library