Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Digital developments have made it possible to address new questions of textual analysis and intepretation and to present texts on a platform that is widely acessible.
METS: Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard
The METS XML schema is a standard for encoding descriptive, administrative, and structural metadata regarding objects within a digital library.
MODS: Metadata Object Description Schema
MODS is an XML schema for a bibliographic element set that may be used for a variety of purposes, particularly for library applications.
TEI: Text Encoding Initiative
The Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) is a consortium which collectively develops and maintains a standard for the representation of texts in digital form.
The W3 schools is a great place to get started with basic programming skills. Tutorials are available for XML, XSLT, and other metalanguages.
Synonymous with text mining, textual analytics describes a set of linguistic and statistical techniques that model and structure the information content of textual sources for data analysis, scholarly research, or investigation. Textual analytics uses information gleamed from the text structure to identify patterns and trends.
An open-source tool for network network data integration, analysis, and visualization developed primarily for the sciences, but useful also for making sense of social networks.
MONK: Metadata Offer New Knowledge
MONK is a digital environment designed to help humanities scholars discover and analyze patterns in the texts they study
Based at McMaster University, TAPoR is a portal where researchers can experiment with a variety of text analysis tools
A web-based text analysis environment, Voyant focuses on various ways of looking at word occurrence, frequency, and context. Voyant provides tables and graphs related to word use across a single document or collection
By providing text, researchers are able to create "word clouds." Words that appear more often in a text receive greater prominence within the cloud.
GIS & Maps
GIS LibGuide from Baruch College
This is an excellent starting point with tons of introductory resources for Geographic Information Systems (GIS), mapping and software.
These repositories are open source and allow you to store, preserve, and manage your digital assets.
An open source software package, DSpace helps manage digital assets and supports a wide variety of materials include, texts and multimedia objects.
An open source content management system that allows scholars to store, preserve, and access digital content.
An open source digital content management system based on Fedora Commons, Drupal, and other additional applications. Islandora may be used to create large, searchable collections of digital assets of any type.
Integral for the sharing and exchange of information, these databases can help you display your projects.
Open-source web publishing for creating and sharing digital library collections.
Created at Boston College, MediaKron allows users to organize and display classroom materials via topic, tag, map, or timeline.
Open-source web publishing platform for displaying scholarly research.
Zotero - citation collection, organization & sharing
This open-source citation tool can also be integrated with other DH research tools, such as MONK, for importing citation collections as work sets.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library