Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
[mural, "The Great City of Tenochtitlan." 1945 by Diego Rivera. Palacio Nacional. Mexico City D.F. México]
Modern Latin American Literature: A Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2012-01-24
In the 1960s, Latin American literature became known worldwide as never before. Writers such as Jorge Luis Borges, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Carlos Fuentes, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz, and Mario Vargas Llosa all became part of the general culture of educated readers of English, French, German,and Italian. But few know about the literary tradition from which these writers emerged. This Very Short Introduction remedies this situation, providing an overview of modern Latin American literature from the late eighteenth century to the present. Roberto Gonzalez Echevarria covers a wide range of topics, discussing the birth of Modernismo, the first Latin American literary movement; how the end of World War I and the Mexican Revolution produced the avant-garde; and how the Cuban Revolution sparked a movement in the novel that came to beknown as the Boom. Within this narrative, the author covers many of the major writers of Latin American literature, from Andres Bello and Jose Maria de Heredia through Borges and Garcia Marquez to Fernando Vallejo and Roberto Bolano.
There are tons of excellent overviews and reports here on issues relating to social movements, immigrant groups and histories. Annotated bibliographies and links are provides so this is a good starting point and a way to familiarize yourself with a topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online reference e-books that provide excellent brief overviews on issues (such as immigration law) and histories of different parts of the world, notable people, etc. Another good first place to start familiarizing yourself with the issues.
Provides some great overviews on controversial issues (similar to CQ Researcher); lots of pro/con essays to help get a sense of these debates.
New York Times archive (1851-2009)
Full-text access to New York Times articles back the very beginning.
Gale Literary Sources
Formerly Artemis or Literature Resource Center. Full-text access to author biographies, literary criticism, bibliographies, and timelines of literary and historical events. Includes Full text access to the entire Shakespearean Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and Short Story Criticism collections, as well as Twayne Author Series. Searchable by author and by the title of the work.
Interdisciplinary full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searching is bilingual (English & Spanish). Covers 1960-present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works in the social sciences and the humanities selected and annotated by scholars. Covers 1936-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers
Latina/o Studies encompass a wide variety of subject areas.
In addition to the resources listed here, be sure to consult other research guides for more help.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library