LibGuides: Zombie Research Guide: Background Research

Encyclopedias: For Background and Historical Context

Specialized encyclopedias (such as Gale Virtual Reference Library) are a good first place to look to get a sense of historical background and political events. Search for slavery in the United States and related topics in this library database. This is also a good place to get a sense of what encylopedic writing looks like and how it is different from thesis-based writing (take a look under the literary criticism tab for this).

Encyclopedia entry: "Vampires and Zombies."
Eaton, Lance. "Vampires and Zombies." Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels. Ed. M. Keith Booker. Vol. 2. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2010. 657-663. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 20 Oct. 2014.
Encyclopedia entry: "The Walking Dead."
Eaton, Lance. "Walking Dead, The." Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels. Ed. M. Keith Booker. Vol. 2. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood Press, 2010. 670-672. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 20 Oct. 2014.
Encyclopedia entry: "Hobbes, Thomas." From the Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Gert, Bernard. "Hobbes, Thomas." Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Robert Audi. 2nd ed. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1999. 386-390. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 20 Oct. 2014.
Encyclopedia entry: "Locke, John." From the Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy.
Wolterstorff, Nicholas P. "Locke, John." Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. Robert Audi. 2nd ed. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1999. 506-509. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 20 Oct. 2014.

Interviews

About this LibGuide

LaGuardia Community College Library Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

LibGuide originally created by GMC Library Guides. Georgia Military College, Last Date Updated. Web. Date Accessed.

MLA Citation: "Zombie Research Guide." LaGuardia Community College Library Research Guides. LaGuardia Community College, CUNY. Last Date Updated. Web. Date Accessed.

For any questions: contact Ann Matsuuchi, LaGuardia Community College Library