Skip to main content

Teaching #BlackLivesMatter: Race, Policing & Protest: Statistics & Images

This guide is meant to serve as a jumping-off point for students and faculty to gain a better understanding of the deaths of unarmed individuals by police officers and the protests that centered on notable cases in 2014.

Statistics & Data

Reports & Ongoing Research

 

Maps

Images

Statistical Resources-New York City

NYCdata

NYCdata provides various kinds of data ( e.g., education, business, culture, sports, housing, income, labor, consumer prices) about New York City. NYCdata is " unique website that provides all the information about NYC you need!."

New York City Reference

The particular site provides " 1990 Census information about 5 boroughs."

Queens Chamber of Commerce

Queens Chamber of Commerce site contains information about  Queens.

Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce

This site provides information about  Brooklyn.

Bronx Chamber of Commerce

This site provides information about the Bronx.

Manhattan Chamber of Commerce

This site offers information about Manhattan.

Staten Island Chamber of Commerce

This site contains information about Staten Island.

Statistical Resources-United States

U.S. Department of Commerce-Bureau of Economic Analysis

This site provides data about "U.S. Economic Accounts."

FedStats

"FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government."

Statistical Abstract of the United States

"The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States."

US Government Offices

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library