LibGuides: New York City and Its Neighborhoods: Online Statistics & Maps

Online Statistical Data for New York City

Asian American Federation Data Center: NYC and Boroughs
Gain insights into New York City’s 1.5 million Asian Americans through free access to demographic, economic, educational and other disaggregated data.
Accidental Skyline
Too often, New Yorkers are caught off guard by new development in their neighborhoods. The Accidental Skyline project offers tools to help demystify the city planning process and bring the public into the conversation.
Department of City Planning Community Portal
This website offers statistics for New York City community districts.
Gothamist Map Archives
The Gothamist website will map almost anything about New York it can think of. View the complete list here including interactive maps.
NYC Foodscapes
Hunter College's New York City Food Policy Center reports data and research that provide a community-level snapshot of New York neighborhoods' food environment.
Inequality and New York's Subway
The New Yorker magazine uses U.S. Census data in this interactive map showing variation in income levels along the city's different subway lines.

Infoshare Online This link opens in a new window
Demographic data for New York City, New York State, and the United States.

Maps by Decade
Maps by Decade shows digitized New York City street maps from New York Public Library's Map Division published between 1850 and 1950, grouped by decade. Use it to compare urban geography across time, and marvel at the contours of New York City's past.
Metro Region Explorer
Metro Region Explorer enables you to explore population, housing, and employment trends within the tri-state New York City Metropolitan Region.
New York Neighborhood Data Profiles
This is a one-stop platform for viewing and downloading neighborhood indicators, providing an in-depth look at demographic, housing market, land use, and neighborhood services indicators for the city’s 59 community districts.
NYC Open Data
NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use as part of an initiative to improve the accessibility, transparency, and accountability of City government.
NYC Planning: Population
This site from the Dept. of City Planning, the City of New York offers multiple reference resources on the city's population. It includes statistics from the latest U.S. Census and the yearly American Community Survey as well as the most recent edition of the publication The Newest New Yorkers: Characteristics of the City's Foreign-Born Population.
NYCityMap
NYCityMap is New York City’s online map portal. It provides a wealth of information including the locations of schools, day care centers, senior centers, libraries, hospitals, subways, and more, as well as links to Web sites for these facilities.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Demographic data, maps, and profile reports of the United States.

More Statistical Resources

You can also access the Library's periodical databases for information found in magazines/journals or newspapers. Two you can start with are Academic Search Complete for magazines and Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) for newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers has a database just for The New York Times up to four years ago.

From off-campus, you will need to log on with your LaGuardia credentials.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Journal articles, abstracts, ebooks, and magazine & newspaper articles, covering all subjects.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information. Look up patents with TotalPatent One.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles through 2019