Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty/Staff Guide: Digital Repository & Archives

Overview of Library resources for LaGuardia Faculty and Staff.

Welcome

Image from Innervisions '83, the LaGuardia Community College 1983 yearbook

Academic Works

CUNY Academic Works is an open access institutional repository dedicated to collecting and providing worldwide access to the research, scholarship and creative work of the City University of New York. In service to CUNY’s mission as a public university, content in Academic Works is freely available to all.

A service of CUNY Libraries coordinated by the Office of Library Services at CUNY Central, CUNY Academic Works provides for the preservation and dissemination of a full range of scholarship, including faculty research such as articles and conference presentations; educational materials; student works such as theses, dissertations, and prize papers; scholarly journals published by or associated with the University; digitized archival documents from CUNY’s libraries and special collections. Academic Works also hosts LaGuardia's Learning Matters Assignment Library, containing examples of assignments that address our Core Competencies and Communication Abilities.

Current CUNY faculty, students, and staff are invited to submit works to the repository. Upon submission, a work will be:

  • More discoverable by search engines such as Google, Google Scholar, and Bing
  • Hosted on a secure server and given a persistent URL to ensure long-term access
  • Freely accessible to the public, including researchers around the world who may have limited access to scholarly works

If you have questions or need more information, you can visit the Academic Works FAQ or contact one your campus liaisons: Ann Matsuuchi (ext. 5213) or Liz Jardine (ext. 5450).

Institutional Archives

LaGuardia's Institutional Archives resides in the Library Media Resources Center. Its mission is to collect, arrange, describe and preserve specific materials related to the history and development of LaGuardia Community College and selected materials of the City University of New York that relate to the college.

The collections include primary source materials such as publications of the college, recruitment advertising, artifacts, college catalogs, correspondence, committee and department meeting minutes, newsletters, newspapers, photographs, reports, audio and video cassettes, slides, yearbooks and course proposals.

Select archival materials are available online in Academic Works at LaGuardia.

LaGuardia Community College was among the first colleges to host high schools on campus. The Middle College High School program is just one innovation developed here. LaGuardia was one of the first community colleges to offer cooperative education as part of the academic curriculum. Other notable initiatives and programs at LaGuardia are its Center for Teaching and Learning, First Year initiatives, use of student ePortfolios, large number of students studying English as a Second Language and our large international student population.

In 2011, LaGuardia Community College celebrated 40 years of opening the doors of higher education to all. Visit the 40th anniversary website.

The Institutional Archives collections include:

  • Administrative and Faculty materials
  • Adult and Continuing Education, including a collection from the closed Astoria Center
  • College Senate Collection, including the Curriculum Committee, many early course proposals and materials relevant to College Governance
  • Cooperative Education from its period as a Division and now as an Academic Department
  • Division of Institutional Advancement and Institutional Research
  • Student Services
  • Faculty Council
  • LaGuardia Community College Photograph Collection
  • Middle College High School Videotape Collection
  • Middle States self studies and reports
  • Publications such as The Bridge and Fiorello’s Flute
  • Task Force Reports
  • AND MUCH MORE!

Access
The collection is available to faculty, staff, students and independent scholars. We welcome all questions and seek to serve your information needs. We strongly suggest calling or emailing us to make an appointment so we can best ascertain your needs and insure we are able to accommodate your request.

Hours and Contact
9:00am–12:00pm and 1:00pm–3:45pm Monday–Friday. Our telephone number is (718) 482-5434 and our fax number is (718) 609-2011. Please direct your inquiries to Valerie Mazzella-Lazides at VALERIE@lagcc.cuny.edu.

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library