Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty/Staff Guide: Collection Development

Overview of Library resources for LaGuardia Faculty and Staff.

Collection Development

The Collection Development unit of the Library is responsible for selecting books, both print and electronic, and media items, and is responsible for the overall management of the collections.

The primary goal of collection development at the LaGuardia Library Media Resource Center is to support the College's immediate academic needs. Collection Development has a commitment to support the informational and research needs of the College's many academic programs as well as specific obligations to support programs subject to accreditation review. The Library also has a commitment to the LaGuardia community at large providing materials of practical and intellectual value to enhance the LaGuardia educational experience overall.

The rest of our collection development policy is here.

If you have a book, or books, you'd like us to consider purchasing, reach out to your Library Liaison (see below), or Professor Louise Fluk (Room E101-H9; 718-482-5424: fluk@lagcc.cuny.edu)

Subject Areas Library Liaisons/Ext. Departmental Liaisons
Business & Technology    
     Accounting Anne O'Reilly, x6021 Santo Trapani
     Business Administration Anne O'Reilly, x6021 Santo Trapani
     Business Management Anne O'Reilly, x6021 Santo Trapani
     Paralegal Program Alexandra Rojas, x6020 Hector Fernandez
     Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Management Liz Jardine, x5450 James Giordano
Education & Language Acquisition    
     Communication Skills Charles Keyes, x6018 Tomonori Nagano
     Deaf Studies Galina Letnikova, x5476 Tomonori Nagano
     Education Galina Letnikova, x5476 Tomonori Nagano
     ESL Clementine Lewis, x5428 Tomonori Nagano
     International Studies Charles Keyes, x6018 Tomonori Nagano
     Latin American Studies Charles Keyes, x6018 Tomonori Nagano
     Linguistics Galina Letnikova, x5476 Tomonori Nagano
     Modern Languages and Literatures Galina Letnikova, x5476 Tomonori Nagano
English    
     English Courses Silvia Lin Hanick, x5480 Natalie Havlin
     Journalism Silvia Lin Hanick, x5480 Natalie Havlin
     Writing and Literature Silvia Lin Hanick, x5480 Natalie Havlin
Health Sciences    
     Dietetic Technician Liz Jardine, x5450 Rosann Ippolito
     EMT/Paramedic Francine Egger-Sider, x5423 Christina Alvarez
     Foodservice Management Liz Jardine, x5450 Rosann Ippolito
     Health and Human Services Dianne Gordon Conyers, x5415 David Bimbi
     Nursing Dianne Gordon Conyers, x5415 Faith Armstrong
     Occupational Therapy Assistant Francine Egger-Sider, x5423 Regina Lehman
     Physical Therapy Assistant Francine Egger-Sider, x5423 Debra Engel
     Practical Nursing Dianne Gordon Conyers, x5415 Lisa O'Donnell
     Radiologic Technology Francine Egger-Sider, x5423 Theresa Licari
     Therapeutic Recreation Francine Egger-Sider, x5423 Tameka Battle
     Veterinary Technician Louise Fluk, x5424 Catherine Colangelo
Humanities    
     Commercial Photography Ian McDermott, x5430 Jaime Riccio
     Digital Humanities Thomas Cleary, X5434 Jaime Riccio
     Fine Arts Ian McDermott, x5430 Jaime Riccio
     Industrial Design Ian McDermott, x5430 Jaime Riccio
     Media Studies Chris McHale, x5441 Jaime Riccio
     Music Recording Chris McHale, x5441 Jaime Riccio
     New Media Technology Thomas Cleary, X5434 Sarada Rauch
     Philosophy and Critical Thinking Chris McHale, x5441 Jaime Riccio
     Speech Communication Charles Keyes, x6018 Jaime Riccio
     Theatre/Performing Arts Chris McHale, x5441 Jaime Riccio
Library    
     Bibliography, Library Science, Information Resources (LC class Z) Galina Letnikova, x5476  
     Reference Alexandra Rojas, x6020  
Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science    
     Computers Ann Matsuuchi, x5213 Omar Ait Hellal
     Data Thomas Cleary, X5434  
     Engineering Ann Matsuuchi, x5213 Yves Ngabonziza and Hendrick Delcham
     Mathematics Ann Matsuuchi, x5213 Marina Nechayeva and Rudy Meangru
Natural Sciences    
     Biology Steven Ovadia, x6022 D. Priyantha Wijesinghe
     Chemistry Steven Ovadia, x6022 D. Priyantha Wijesinghe
     Physical Sciences Steven Ovadia, x6022 D. Priyantha Wijesinghe
Social Science    
     Anthropology Derek Stadler, x5031 Dusana Podlucka
     Criminal Justice Derek Stadler, x5031 Lily Shohat
     Economics Derek Stadler, x5031 Dusana Podlucka
     History Liz Jardine, x5450 Dusana Podlucka
     Political Science Charles Keyes, x6018 Dusana Podlucka
     Psychology Derek Stadler, x5031 Dusana Podlucka
     Sociology Derek Stadler, x5031 Dusana Podlucka
Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library