Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Databases to Get You Started
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is a very good starting point for almost any topic you are researching. Because it accesses magazine and newspaper articles as well as academic research and technical articles, you will probably get results that will be easier to read than those from a database that only accesses academic articles.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowHow-to use Opposing Viewpoints video here.
A one-stop source for information on today's most controversial and talked about social issues. This database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. (100% Full Text)
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowCollection of journal articles, abstracts, ebooks, and magazine & newspaper articles, covering all subjects.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to newspapers and news program transcripts from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles in area studies, art, business & economics, history, humanities, law, medicine & allied health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowGlobal Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases, including CUNY's book catalog, at one time, with one search.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library