Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Beyond Google: The Invisible Web: Tools

Sample Suggestions for Mining or Harvesting the Invisible Web

1. Directories:

Open Directory Project - "...largest human-edited directory of the Web"
www.dmoz.org

Infomine: Scholarly Internet Research Collection from the University of California-Riverside - (Went offline 12/15/14)
http://infomine.ucr.edu

Digital Librarian maintained by Margaret Vail Anderson, a librarian
www.digital-librarian.com - (Last updated 4/20/13)

Internet Public Library (ipl2) - http://ipl2.org - (Ceased operations 6/30/15)

WWW Virtual Library http://vlib.org/ - Started by Tim Berners-Lee in 1991, oldest Web directory.

2. Guides:

Boswell, Wendy. The Invisible Web: How To Find and Search the Invisible Web. About.com. 2009.
http://websearch.about.com/od/invisibleweb/a/invisible_web.htm

A tutorial from the UC Berkeley Library. Invisible or Deep Web: What It Is, How to Find It, And Its Inherent Ambiguity. 2012.
www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/InvisibleWeb.html

3. Search Tools:

http://base.ub.uni-bielefeld.de/en/index.php - BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine

www.closerlooksearch.com - Closer Look Search - Example of a vertical search engine

http://deep-web.org - Deep Web Search - A How-To Site

http://deeperweb.com - deeper web (powered by Google) -(Beta 2010)

http://mednar.com/mednar/ - Mednar

https://millionshort.com - Million Short will remove from a hundred to a million top websites from search results to reach new and original resources.

http://www.refseek.com - (in public beta 2014) - "is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone."

www.archive.org/web/web.php - Internet Archive Wayback Machine - archive of websites

http://www.wolframalpha.com - Wolfram Alpha - Computational knowledge engine

http://www.deepdotweb.com - Deep.Dot.Web - "provides the public with information about the dark net."

http://www.vocativ.com - Vocativ - a "new type of media company, bringing audiences hidden perspectives, unheard voices and original ideas from around the world via the Deep Web."

4.  Specialized Databases:

http://www.doaj.org/ - Directory of Open Access Journals

www.eric.ed.gov - Digital library of education research and information

www.findlaw.com - Information on federal and state laws, lawsuits, etc.

www.loc.gov - Library of Congress

https://pipl.com/ - People search

www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/ - PubMed: U.S. National Library of Medicine portal to government-funded medical research

www.science.gov - Gateway to U.S. Federal Science

www.scienceresearch.com - A free Web portal to science journals and science databases

http://topsy.com - Searches the social web   (Closed December 2015)

www.usa.gov - The official Web portal to the U. S. government

http://worldwidescience.org - "The global science gateway". Available now in 10 languages.

5. Weblogs:

The Invisible Web Revisited - http://invisiblewebrevisited.wordpress.com/
Maintained by Francine Egger-Sider

Going Beyond Google Again - http://goingbeyondgoogleagain.wordpress.com/
Maintained by Francine Egger-Sider

Invisible Web Weblog - http://invisibleweblog.blogspot.com/
Maintained by Yazdan Mansourian.

6. LibGuides:

http://libguides.uky.edu/content.php?pid=53054&sid=1992304 - LibGuide created by the University of Kentucky Libraries in which the Invisible Web is depicted as a venn diagram

http://guides.stlcc.edu/deepweb - St. Louis Community College Library LibGuide, "Deep Web: Welcome"

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library