Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: African History

Empires of the Western Sudan: Mali Empire
This Metropolitan Museum webpage can provide you with some images and background on the Ghana Empire, the Mali Empire, and the Songhai Empire.
http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/wsem/hd_wsem.htm

Mali Empires and Djenne Figures
Good background information with map and pictures of works of art. http://www.nmafa.si.edu/exhibits/resources/mali/index.htm

The Road to Timbuktu
Website about Mali Empire, its history, and monuments.
http://www.pbs.org/wonders/fr_e5.htm

 

 

 

Africa and Africans in antiquity. East Lansing : Michigan State University Press, c2001.
Call number: DT 24 .A38

Africa from the twelfth to the sixteenth century.
Oxford : J. Currey ; Berkeley : University of California Press, 1997.
Call number: DT20 .G452

Koslow, Philip
Centuries of greatness, 750-1900 : the West African kingdoms. New York, N.Y. : Chelsea House, 1995.
Call number: DT 476 .K67

Encyclopedia of African nations and civilizations.
New York : Facts on File, 2002.
Call number: DT14 .E43

Falola, Toyin
Key events in African history : a reference guide. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2002.
Call number: DT20 .F34

Medieval West Africa : views from Arab scholars and merchants.
Princeton, N.J. : Markus Wiener Publishers, c2003.
Call number: DT476 .M43

Peoples of West Africa.
New York : Facts on File, c1997.
Call number: Reference Section GN 652.5 .P48

Miner, Horace Mitchell
The primitive city of Timbuctoo. Garden City : Anchor, 1965.
Call number: DT 553 .T6 M53

 

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library