Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: Aztecs

Ancient Mexico.com
Ancient Mexico.com provides a few good documents (An Indian account of the Aztec Religion, Aztec Imperial Life.) Also get some basic information on the major gods and cities. The timeline can help you understand the events better.
http://www.ancientmexico.com

University of Minnesota Duluth -- Ancient Middle America -- Aztecs, Nahuatl, Tenochtitlán
This site provides a number of links to good resources about the Aztec calendar, Aztec chronology, the Aztec Empire, and much more.
http://www.d.umn.edu/cla/faculty/troufs/anth3618/maaztec.html

 

Taube, Karl A.
Aztec and Maya myths.
Austin : University of Texas Press, c1993.
Call number: F 1219.76 .R45 T38

Carrasco, Davíd.
Daily life of the Aztecs : people of the sun and earth.
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1998.
Call number: F 1219.73 .C355

Baldwin, Neil.
Legends of the plumed serpent : biography of a Mexican god.
1st ed. New York : PublicAffairs, c1998.
Call number: F 1219.3 .R38 B36

Coe, Michael D.
Mexico : from the Olmecs to the Aztecs.
5th ed., rev. and expanded. New York : Thames & Hudson, 2002.
Call number: F1219.7 .C63

Conrad, Geoffrey W.
Religion and empire : the dynamics of Aztec and Inca expansionism.
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1984 (2002 printing) Call number: F1219.73 .C66

Schobinger, Juan.
The ancient Americans : a reference guide to the art, culture, and history of pre-Columbian North and South America.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2001.
Call number: E59 .P42 S3613 (2 volumes)

Smith, Michael Ernest.
The Aztecs.
2nd ed. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2003.
Call number: F1219.73 .S58

 

Britannica Online
This the online version of the famous Encyclopedia Britannica. The encyclopedia touches on virtually every possible subject. Search results are divided in 4 columns: Encyclopedia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, The Web's Best Sites, and Additional Resources.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.eb.com/

CUNY+
This is LaGuardia Library's Online Public Access Catalog. It is also used throughout CUNY. CUNY+ contains records mostly for books but also includes records for videocassettes, CDs, DVDs, government documents, journal and magazines titles, and more.
http://libsearch.cuny.edu/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=laguardia

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library