Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: Incas

Exploring the Inca Heartland: Introduction
This is an Online Feature from the journal Archeology published by the Archeological Institute of America. The site goes through Cuzco and the Sacred Valley, the Inca Trail, the Mountain Gods, Machu Picchu, and more.
http://www.archaeology.org/online/features/peru/index.html

Inca Civilization.
This article (careful this has 8 pages, make sure you read everything!) was put together by Genry Joil. He his an active contributor to Wikipedia. The article covers all aspects of the Inca world.
http://www.lost-civilizations.net/inca-civilization.html

Mathematics of the Incas
This is an article from a larger website called The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive maintained by 2 teachers at the School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of St Andrews, Scotland. The article highlights the accomplishments of the Incas in mathematics.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/HistTopics/Inca_mathematics.html

National Geographic
This National Geographic website is dedicated to the Incas. Watch videos, learn about mummies, and read about the culture of the Incas.
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/inca

 

Martell, Hazel.
Civilizations of Peru before 1535.
Austin, Tex. : Raintree Steck-Vaughn, c1999.
Call number: F 3429 .M355

Malpass, Michael Andrew.
Daily life in the Inca empire.
Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 1996.
Call number: F 3429 .M26

Machu Picchu : unveiling the mystery of the Incas.
New Haven : Yale University Press, c2004.
Call number: F3429.1 .M3 M33

Conrad, Geoffrey W.
Religion and empire : the dynamics of Aztec and Inca expansionism.
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1984 (2002 printing)
Call number: F1219.73 .C66

Ritual arts of the New World : Pre-Columbian America.
Milano : Skira ; New York, NY : Distributed in North America and Latin America by Abbeville Pub. Group, c2000.
Call number: E 59 .A7 R58

Schobinger, Juan.
The ancient Americans : a reference guide to the art, culture, and history of pre-Columbian North and South America.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2001.
Call number: E59 .P42 S3613 (2 volumes)

The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Call number: GT31 .G74

 

Britannica Online
This the online version of the famous Encyclopedia Britannica. The encyclopedia touches on virtually every possible subject. Search results are divided in 4 columns: Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, The Web's Best Sites, and Additional Resources.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.eb.com/

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library