Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: Mayas

Lost King of the Maya
This is the companion website for the film that shares the same title. The website makes available video clips with a Mayan historian, information about the different cities of the Mayan world, information about hyeroglyphs, and links to some resources on the topic. The website is a little old however.
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/maya/

Maya Adventure
"The Science Museum of Minnesota presents Maya Adventure, a World-Wide Web site that highlights science activities and information related to ancient and modern Maya culture."
You'll find information about a variety of topics from religion to arts and textiles.
http://www.smm.org/sln/ma/

The Maya Astronomy Page
This site gives basic information about Mayan mathematics, calendar, writing, astronomy, and geography.
http://www.michielb.nl/maya/

 

 

 

Ancient Maya political economies.
Walnut Creek, CA : AltaMira Press, c2002.
Call number: F1435.3 .E27 A53

Taube, Karl A.
Aztec and Maya myths.
Austin : University of Texas Press, c1993.
Call number: F 1219.76 .R45 T38

Miller, Mary Ellen.
Courtly art of the ancient Maya.
[San Francisco] : Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco ; New York : Thames & Hudson, 2004.
Call number: F1435 .M55

Ritual arts of the New World : Pre-Columbian America.
Milano : Skira ; New York, NY : Distributed in North America and Latin America by Abbeville Pub. Group, c2000.
Call number: E 59 .A7 R58

Royal courts of the ancient Maya.
Boulder, CO : Westview Press, 2001-
Call number: F 1435.3 .K55 R69

Schobinger, Juan.
The ancient Americans : a reference guide to the art, culture, and history of pre-Columbian North and South America.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2001.
Call number: E59 .P42 S3613 (2 volumes)

Miller, Mary Ellen.
The gods and symbols of ancient Mexico and the Maya : an illustrated dictionary of Mesoamerican religion.
New York : Thames and Hudson, c1993.
Call number: F1219.3.R38 M64

The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Call number: GT31 .G74

 

Britannica Online
This the online version of the famous Encyclopedia Britannica. The encyclopedia touches on virtually every possible subject. Search results are divided in 4 columns: Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, The Web's Best Sites, and Additional Resources.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.eb.com/

CUNY+
This is LaGuardia Library's Online Public Access Catalog. It is also used throughout CUNY. CUNY+ contains records mostly for books but also includes records for videocassettes, CDs, DVDs, government documents, journal and magazines titles, and more.
http://libsearch.cuny.edu/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=laguardia

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library