Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: Olmecs

Ancient Scripts
Article about the origins of Olmec writing system.
http://www.ancientscripts.com/epiolmec.html

Archaeology -- Olmec People, Olmec Art
An article about archeological excavations (pottery) dealing with the Olmec civilization.
http://www.archaeology.org/online/features/olmec/index.html

History Of The African-Olmecs
This is an article about the African origins of the Olmec. It describes the origins of this civilization and its similarities with African nations (including a religious comparison).
http://www.raceandhistory.com/historicalviews/04022002.htm

 

 

 

Coe, Michael D.
Mexico : from the Olmecs to the Aztecs.
5th ed., rev. and expanded. New York : Thames & Hudson, 2002.
Call number: F1219.7 .C63

Olmec art of ancient Mexico
Washington, D.C. : National Gallery of Art, c1996.
Call number: F1219.8 .O56 O46

Schobinger, Juan.
The ancient Americans : a reference guide to the art, culture, and history of pre-Columbian North and South America.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c2001.
Call number: E59 .P42 S3613 (2 volumes)

Miller, Mary Ellen.
The art of Mesoamerica : from Olmec to Aztec.
London : Thames & Hudson, 2001.
Call number: F1219.3 .A7 M55

The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life : a tour through history from ancient times to the present.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2004.
Call number: GT31 .G74

 

Britannica Online
This the online version of the famous Encyclopedia Britannica. The encyclopedia touches on virtually every possible subject. Search results are divided in 4 columns: Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, The Web's Best Sites, and Additional Resources.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.eb.com/

CUNY+
This is LaGuardia Library's Online Public Access Catalog. It is also used throughout CUNY. CUNY+ contains records mostly for books but also includes records for videocassettes, CDs, DVDs, government documents, journal and magazines titles, and more.
http://libsearch.cuny.edu/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=laguardia

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library