Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pre-1500 Resources: Tainos or Arawaks

Pre-Columbian Hispaniola - Arawak/Taino Indians
This is an overview of the Arawak/Taino Indians covering Lifestyle, Housing and Dress, Food and Agriculture, Transportation, Defense, Religion and Myth, genocidal end of the civilization, and Specific Indian leaders at the time of Columbus. Take time to explore the rest of the site.
http://www.hartford-hwp.com/archives/43a/100.html

Taíno Indians Culture
This is part of a larger site about Puerto Rico. This particular page gives some introductions about Taino culture.
http://welcome.topuertorico.org/reference/taino.shtml

 

 

 

Ta ino revival : critical perspectives on Puerto Rican identity and cultural politics.
Princeton, NJ : Markus Wiener Publishers, c2001.
Call number: F1983 .A1 T35

Taíno : pre-Columbian art and culture from the Caribbean.
New York : Monacelli Press, 1998.
Call number: F1619.2 .T3 T37

Rouse, Irving. The Tainos : rise & decline of the people who greeted Columbus.
New Haven : Yale University Press, c1992.
Call number: F 1619.2 .T3 R68

 

Britannica Online
This the online version of the famous Encyclopedia Britannica. The encyclopedia touches on virtually every possible subject. Search results are divided in 4 columns: Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, The Web's Best Sites, and Additional Resources.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.eb.com/

CUNY+
This is LaGuardia Library's Online Public Access Catalog. It is also used throughout CUNY. CUNY+ contains records mostly for books but also includes records for videocassettes, CDs, DVDs, government documents, journal and magazines titles, and more.
http://libsearch.cuny.edu/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=laguardia

EBSCO -- Academic Search Complete
This is a Full-text general information database. Perfect for starting your research when you're not sure where to start. Don't forget to use the word AND to connect your words when searching.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

EBSCO -- History Reference Center (Database)
The History Reference Center is a full-text database access to history reference books and encyclopedias, as well as magazines. Also, includes historical documents, biographies, photos, maps, and videos.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.epnet.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=khh

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to selected scholarly journals in a number of disciplines from african and classical studies to sociology and music.
https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://www.jstor.org/

 

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library