Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York Riots: Articles From Library Databases

  • Adams, George R. "Riot as Ritual: Ann Petry's "In Darkness and Confusion"
    Negro American Literature Forum, (6) 2 (Summer, 1972), 54-57+60.
    Full-text via JSTOR
  • Agee, James. "After the Riots: New York City race relations in 1943." Harper's 306 (June 2003): 27-31.
    Full-text via Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition
  • Allred, Jeff. "From Eye to We: Richard Wright's 12 Million Black Voices, Documentary, and Pedagogy."
    American Literature, Sep 2006; 78: 549 - 583.
    Full text via EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete
  • Baldwin, James. "Harlem Hoodlums" Newsweek. 9 Aug. 1943.
  • Capeci, Dominic J. "From Different Liberal Perspectives: Fiorello H. La Guardia, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., and Civil Rights in New York City, 1941-1943" The Journal of Negro History. 62(2) (Apr. 1977), 160-173.
    Full-text via JSTOR
  • Clark, Kenneth B. "GROUP VIOLENCE: A PRELIMINARY STUDY OF THE ATTITUDINAL PATTERN OF ITS ACCEPTANCE AND REJECTION: A STUDY OF THE 1943 HARLEM RIOT." Journal of Social Psychology, May 1944,19 (2), 319-337.
    Full-text via SocINDEX
  • "OPA Establishes Office in Harlem." New York Times. 7 Aug. 1943, 13.
    Full-text via Proquest Historical Newspapers
  • "Curfew In Harlem Relaxed to 11:30." The New York Times. 4 Aug.1943, 8.
    Full-text via Proquest Historical Newspapers
  • "Police Ease Curbs With Harlem Quiet." The New York Times. 5 Aug. 1943, p. 17.
    Full-text via Proquest Historical Newspapers
  • Greenberg, Cheryl. "Politics of Disorder: Reexamining Harlem’s Riots of 1935 and 1943" Journal of Urban History, 1992, 18: 395-441.
    Call no. has in print, 1982-present
  • Jackson, Lawrence P. "The Birth of the Critic: The Literary Friendship of Ralph Ellison and Richard Wright." American Literature, Jun 2000; 72: 321 - 355.
    Full-text via Project Muse
  • Johnson, Marilynn S. (1998). "Gender, Race, and Rumours: Re-examining the 1943 Race Riots." Gender & History 10 (2), 252-277.
    Full text via EBSCOHost Academic Search Complete
  • Nelson, Bruce. "Organized Labor and the Struggle for Black Equality During World War II." Journal of American History, 80 (1993), p 980.
    Full-text via JSTOR
  • Swan, L. Alex. "THE HARLEM AND DETROIT RIOTS OF 1943: A COMPARATIVE ANALYSIS." Berkeley Journal of Sociology, 1971-1972, 16(1), 75-93.
    Not available at LaGuardia - Available at Queens College
  • White, Walter. "Behind the Harlem Riot." New Republic. 16 Aug.1943, 221.
    Not available at LaGuardia - Baruch and Hunter have on microfilm
Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library