Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Reference books are mainly used to look up information on an as needed basis. Reference books cannot be checked out and do not leave the library. A Reference book can be identified by the "REF" designation before its call number on the spine of the book. Reference books can be found in the Reference section on the first floor of the Library.
Pain Sourcebook by Provides basic consumer health information about the causes and management of various types of acute and chronic pain, along with prevention strategies and coping tips. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Call Number: REF RB127 .P332123 2013
The Encyclopedia of Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders by According to the Centers for Disease Control, approximately 70 million Americans suffer from arthritis or chronic joint pain and an estimated 20 million seek chiropractic help each year in search of relief from muscle pain or realignment of their skeleton. In an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format, ""The Encyclopedia of Muscle and Skeletal Systems and Disorders"" provides more than 500 concise entries covering all aspects of muscle and bone in the human body. Complete, comprehensive coverage includes anatomy, metabolic processes, injuries, diseases and disorders, treatments, medicines, nutrition, current research, and much more.
Call Number: REF RC925.5 .S29 2005
Musculoskeletal Radiology by All the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams -- in print and online! RadCases contains cases selected to simulate everything that you'll see on your rounds, rotations, and exams. RadCases also helps you identify the correct differential diagnosis for each case - including the most critical. Visit RadCases.thieme.com for free sample cases and to experience this dynamic learning tool for yourself! RadCases covers: Cardiac Imaging, Interventional Radiology, Musculoskeletal Radiology, Neuro Imaging, Thoracic Imaging, Pediatric Imaging, Gastrointestinal Imaging, Breast Imaging, Nuclear Medicine, Ultrasound Imaging, Head and Neck Imaging, Genitourinary Imaging Each RadCases title features 100 carefully selected, must-know cases documented with clear, high-quality radiographs. The organization provides maximum ease of use for self-assessment. Each case begins with the clinical presentation on the right-hand page; simply turn the page for imaging findings, differential diagnoses, the definitive diagnosis, essential facts, and more. Each RadCases title includes a scratch-off code that allows 12 months of access to a searchable online database of all 100 cases from the book plus an additional 150 cases in that book's specialty - 250 cases in total! Learn your cases, diagnose with confidence and pass your exams. RadCases.Musculoskeletal Radiology will enable you to diagnose the full range of skeletal, ligament, muscle, and joint pathology. Features of Musculoskeletal Radiology: 445 high-resolution radiographs demonstrating key musculoskeletal disorders A variety of common and uncommon presentations covering everything from rheumatoid arthritis to developmental hip dysplasia Examples of critical cases that must be diagnosed immediately - to avert potential disaster in daily practice and on exams - such as blastic prostate metastasis
Call Number: REF RC925.7 .M878 2010
Arthritis Sourcebook by Provides basic consumer health information about the risk factors, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, juvenile arthritis, gout, infectious arthritis, and autoimmune disorders associated with arthritis; along with f
Call Number: REF RC933 .A665257 2010
Encyclopedia of Arthritis by Arthritis is the number one cause of disability in the United States. More than 40 million people show some evidence of it on x-rays and more than 16 million suffer its effects. One of the most common misconceptions regarding arthritis is that it is a single disease, when in reality there are many different types of arthritis, requiring different types of treatment. The Encyclopedia of Arthritis is a new volume in the Library of Health and Living series. It provides comprehensive coverage of the topic in an accessible A-to-Z format written for lay reader but useful to the professional. The book covers everything from definitions of specific types of arthritis, its symptoms, its causes, and diagnoses to medications, pain management, and possible treatments. Relevant appendixes listing statistics and resources, information on drugs used for treatment, directories of organizations, periodicals and internet resources, and an extensive bibliography are also included.
Call Number: REF RC933 .S766 2004
Spinal Cord Injury by Compltely updated in a new edition, this unique reference is an in-depth examination of the central role of the physical therapist in rehabilitation following spinal cord injury. This book encompasses all of the elements involved in a successful rehabilitation program. It includes a basic understanding of spinal cord injuries and issues relevant to disability, as well as knowledge of the physical skills involved in functional activities and the therapeutic strategies for acquiring these skills. It also presents an approach to the cord-injured person that promotes self-respect and encourages autonomy. Comprehensive information equips readers with a broad foundation of knowledge including topics relevant to spinal cord injury, its pathological repercussions, and medical and rehabilitative management in preparation for program planning, patient and family education, and effective participation as a member of a rehabilitation team.
Call Number: REF RD594.3 .S63 2010
Imaging Painful Spine Disorders by Leo F. Czervionke, MD and Douglas S. Fenton, MD present Imaging Painful Spine Disorders, the diagnostic companion to Image-Guided Spine Intervention, with 1,400 high-quality radiographic images to help you diagnose common and rare spine pain conditions. The full-color, easy-to-navigate format takes you from Spinal Anatomy, which includes normal CT and MR images of the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, to Clinical Disorders, where each chapter is introduced by an actual patient case. No other reference features as many case studies illustrating the imaging presentation of back pain, provides a detailed differential diagnosis, and points out clinical pitfalls and common diagnosis errors quite like this one. And you can access it all in both print and online. Access representative cross-sectional images of the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, as well as the sacrum, in axial, sagittal, and coronal planes, to understand the imaging appearance of healthy anatomy prior to diagnosis. Get a complete explanation of each clinical disorder, including a detailed description of the condition, as well as relevant clinical and pathological information, to help make a more accurate diagnosis. Broaden your recognition of imaging features with case studies that often include additional images of other patients with the same condition, to emphasize the range of features possible for the area being discussed. Keep your memory fresh with the current nomenclature of various types of disc herniations, listed in a separate, illustrated chapter, and get a brief overview of the major treatment options currently available for each particular disorder. Search the complete contents online, and download all the illustrations, at expertconsult.com. Diagnose common and rare spine pain conditions with the highest quality resolution
Call Number: REF RD768 .C94 2011
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy by Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy has been revised and updated into a second edition to include the latest information in the field of physical therapy. This reference book, designed specifically for the physical therapy student and practitioner, provides many terms, concepts, and conditions essential to the field. This second edition provides quick access to over 3,000 words and their definitions that are encountered on a day-to-day basis. There are 39 appendices included in this user-friendly, handy reference where you can find materials such as selected APTA documents and World Wide Web resources. Inside you will also find lists of standardized acronyms and abbreviations for words, medical roots from which many words are derived, commonly used acronyms for evaluative tests and measures, and guidelines for documentation. Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy, Second Edition is the perfect, pocket size companion for school, clinical affiliations, preparation for the licensure exam, and physical therapy practice.
Call Number: REF RM606.5 .Q53 2003
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice provides readers with the information and tools needed to appreciate the philosophy, history, and value of evidence-based practice, understand what constitutes evidence, search efficiently for applicable evidence in the literature, evaluate the findings in the literature, and integrate the evidence with clinical judgement and individual patient preferences and values. This unique handbook marries the best elements of multiple texts into a single accessible guide. The Second Edition has been updated throughout with new references and expanded information on key topics. There are two new chapters: Appraising Evidence about Clinical Prediction Rules and Appraising Evidence about Self-report Outcomes Measures. The new edition is divided into four sections that break down the research process, this user-friendly text also includes key terms, learning objectives, exercises, diagrams and worksheets, and useful appendices. This is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.Updates to the Second Edition:New chapter on Appraising Evidence About Clinical Prediction RulesChapter 10 is expanded to help readers understand the differences in critiquing evidence about diagnostic tests v. evidence about clinical measuresChapter 13 is split into two chapters Appraisal of Evidence About Outcomes Research and Appraisal of Evidence About Self-Report Outcomes MeasuresAdditional patient case examples in Chapter 18: Putting it All Together (Chapter 15 in the 1st edition)Revised worksheets for easier documentation of findings during evidence appraisal processUpdated information and screen shots for data base search enginesInstructor Resources Include: Sample Syllabus, PowerPoint Slides, Image Bank, and Answers to End of Chapter Questions
Call Number: REF RM700 .J49 2011
Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: A Symptoms Based Approach by Demonstrates how to organize the history and examination interview, and to interpret the findings using a 'process' that helps to determine what is the most likely type and source of the pathology. Organizes the content by the presenting primary symptom. Uses outlines, lists, and tables within each symptom chapter to make reference easy. Follows a standard format throughout each symptom chapter that includes... A brief description of the symptom and its variations. Red flags indicating the need for special concern Tables of possible conditions, organized by how common or rare they are. Identifies conditions that might require emergency or urgent attention. Describes the differential diagnosis of each symptom, with careful attention to the findings in the history and examination. Discusses each of the conditions listed in the table of possible diagnoses, focusing on the key findings that would rule a condition more or less likely. Lists tests that might be needed to reach a definitive differential diagnosis. Facilitates decision making regarding whether physical therapy is...not indicated, indicated after referral or consultation with another healthcare practitioner, or appropriate without additional referral or consultation.
Call Number: REF RM701 .D53 2013
Muscles: Testing and Function by This renowned classic provides unparalleled coverage of manual muscle testing, plus evaluation and treatment of faulty and painful postural conditions. The thoroughly updated Fifth Edition is completely reorganized and has new, expanded treatment and exercise sections in each chapter. Other features include a new section on post-polio syndrome, additional case studies comparing Guillain-Barré to polio muscle tests, a new full-color design, and a first-of-its-kind chart of upper extremity articulations.
Call Number: REF RM701 .M87 2005
Postural Disorders and Musculoskeletal Dysfunction by This title is an evidence based book that connects the theoretical and practical aspects of human movement and posture and provides basic information for therapists working with people with postural disorders. Practical material is approached area by area so that therapists can easily access the information they require. The anatomy and kinesiology of the locomotor/musculoskeletal system is covered and common pathologies and postural disorders reviewed. Accessible writing style supported by large number of illustrations (line and photograph) Connects theoretical and practical aspects of human movement and posture Comprehensive Links anatomy, kinaesiology and posture Evidence-based
Call Number: REF RM701 .S64 2008
Saunders Q & A Review for the Physical Therapist Assistant Board Examination by With more than 1,000 study and review questions, Saunders Q&A Review for the Physical Therapist Assistant Board Examination provides the practice you need to succeed on the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) for Physical Therapist Assistants. Questions simulate the format of the NPTE, in terms of content and the proportional breakdown of topics, and include rationales along with page references to physical therapy textbooks. Written by physical therapy specialist Brad Fortinberry, this book also includes a companion website offering unlimited test-taking practice plus instant feedback. 1,385 multiple-choice questions reflect the format, content, and proportional question breakdown of the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) as well as the terminology from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. Review and study features address the role of the Physical Therapist Assistant, focusing on the clinical application of knowledge, concepts, and principles necessary in providing safe and effective patient care consistent with best practice, and include system-specific questions on the musculoskeletal, neuromuscular, cardiovascular/pulmonary, integumentary, and other systems. Practice tests mimic the NPTE, helping you prepare for the NPTE with confidence. Electronic test-taking option enables students to create an unlimited number of unique practice tests, and receive instant feedback for answers. Rationales for correct answers include textbook references to help in preparing for the certification exam. Timed format for sample tests simulates the actual examination experience and strengthens your prioritization and time-management skills. Content experts provide knowledge and insight across every specialty area covered on the exam, for a reliable, well-rounded review.
Call Number: REF RM701.6 .F67 2014
Writing Patient/Client Notes by Addresses how Patient/Client Management and SOAP notes work in accordance with the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapy Practice and WHO's ICF model. Features exercises and worksheets at the end of each section and chapter. Provides samples of both correct and incorrect note writing. Teaches readers how to write a defensible note. Offers a quick review of medical terminology and abbreviations used in note writing.
Call Number: REF RM701.6 .K48 2016
NPTE Secrets Study Guide by ***Includes Practice Test Questions*** NPTE Secrets helps you ace the National Physical Therapy Examination, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive NPTE Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. NPTE Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to NPTE & NPTAE Test Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; A comprehensive review including: Nervous System, Signs and Symptoms, Major Hormones, Respiratory System, Cardiac Review, Maternal Responses, Psychological Processes, Blood and Urine Values, Nutrient Review, Pediatric Conditions, Musculoskeletal Conditions, GI Disease Review, Organ Functions, Pathological Conditions, Basic Tissues, Wound Care, Special Test, Exercise Principles, Gait Cycle, Prosthetic Terminology, Normal Lab Values, Modalities, Developmental Milestones, MET Review, and much more...
Call Number: REF RM701.6 .N595 2016
The PTA Handbook by The updated Second Edition of The PTA Handbook is a unique textbook that serves students from pre-admission into a physical therapist assistant program, through the academic program, up to career entry and practice as a physical therapist assistant. Dr. Kathleen A. Curtis and Peggy DeCelle Newman have updated this Second Edition to reflect current practice standards, including updated core professional documents addressing direction and supervision to align with developments in the physical therapy profession. The PTA Handbook, Second Edition expands on the popular first edition and includes an overview of the physical therapy profession, the physical therapist (PT) - physical therapist assistant (PTA) preferred relationship, evidenced-based practice and information literacy, diversity and cultural proficiency, and planning for life-long learning and leadership development. What is new in the Second Edition: * Includes key documents that guide the provision of physical therapy services and describe the relationship between delivery of care by the PT and PTA * Career development strategies for the PTA, including criteria for Recognition of Advanced Proficiency for the Physical Therapist Assistant and leadership roles in professional, clinical, and community contexts * Case studies and "Putting It Into Practice" exercises are user-friendly, realistic approaches to enhance student learning and comprehension through immediate and meaningful application of the topic being discussed * Written as a strategy-based guide to success for PTA students in meeting the required demands and expectations during a PTA program as well as in practice in the field The PTA Handbook, Second Edition also covers information that will assist advisors and counselors in college and work re-entry programs to provide guidance regarding the physical therapy profession and specifically the differing roles of the PTA and PT. This text will also serve as a key guide for groups of 21st century learners frequently seeking PTA education, including first-generation college students, adult learners, career re-entry, second-language learners, and learners with disabilities. The PTA Handbook: Keys to Success in School and Career for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition is an essential reference for students, educators, advisors and counselors, and therapy managers who want to maximize the potential for success of the PTA.
Call Number: REF RM705.C873 2015
Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Bodywork by Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Bodywork will impress students and professionals in massage therapy as being a unique, ready reference for a wide variety of information relevant to the profession. Why look through numerous texts when everything you will want to find can be found inside one handy, pocket size resource?Concise and user-friendly, find quick access to over 2,000 definitions and terms that will be encountered daily by massage therapy students and professionals. Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Bodywork also contains 22 appendices on important topics such as AMTA Standards of Practice, medical codes for massage therapy, and acronyms and abbreviations.Making the Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Bodywork the most complete and hands-on source to have by your side is the inclusion of 200 names of massage and bodywork modalities with a general explanation regarding the nature of massage and bodywork.Some Additional Appendices Include:Selected National and International Massage AssociationsIMA Standards of PracticeOrganization AcronymsLicensure by StateSafety and HygienePerfect for massage therapy students, clinicians, faculty, and office staff, Quick Reference Dictionary for Massage Therapy and Bodywork will be the only reference needed for quick answers to all your questions!
Call Number: REF RM721 .D386 2005
The Rehabilitation Specialist's Handbook by Thorough coverage of older adults and children in geriatric and pediatric sections. Outcome measures section with validated tests. The latest information on specialties, from the PT specialist's point of view. Colored tabs for each section and an expanded, colored index make information easily accessible. Translations of clinical terms include Spanish, Korean, and Chinese (Mandarin and Cantonese).
Call Number: REF RM735.3 .R68 2013
Reserve Books are textbooks that are required for courses. They are kept at the Circulation Desk at the Library. Reserve Books can be checked out for either 2 hours (in Library use only), 3 days, or 14 days (older editions) depending on the title. Ask for the title of the book at the Circulation Desk You may click on the title links below to see whether the book has already been checked out by another person.
Documentation for Physical Therapist Assistants by Explores all aspects of SOAP notes with review questions and practice exercises that help you remember must-know information. Demonstrates what to do and what not to do through examples of appropriate and inappropriate notes. Teaches procedures for multiple practice settings with examples of various types of documentation and forms that prepare you for the real world. Follows the standards of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapy Practice with the proper terminology.
Call Number: RM705 .L84 2018
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapist Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by The Third Edition of this best-selling text, written specifically for PTAs, will help instructors introduce students to information regarding professionalism, professional roles, interpersonal communication, physical therapist's behavior and conduct, teaching and learning, and evidence based practice. This comprehensive text will provide a valuable resource throughout the physical therapist assistant's education and training throughout the entire duration of the PTA program. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION NEW! Chapters on Student Learning and Student Career Paths/Opportunities NEW! Discussion Questions for each Chapter NEW! Learning Opportunities, which are additional Project Assignments for each Chapter Revised content, up-to-date with release of APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, Defensible Documentation, CMS Strategic Plan, the Affordable Care Act, HITECH Act, and other changes NEW CONTENT TOPICS Preferred Practice Patterns Networking Confronting Ethical Dilemmas Value-Based Behaviors for the Physical Therapist Assistant Duty PT/PTA collaboration Responsibility Integrity in Practice Elder Abuse Harassment Effective Questioning Strategies Written Communication to Healthcare Professionals or Payer Sources" Standardized Titles and Names Used In Physical Therapy Barriers to Learning Private Insurance Tricare and the Veterans Health Administration System INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES Clinical Lab Scenarios Image Bank Slides in PowerPoint format Additional Practice Activities Test Bank Transition Guide
Call Number: RM705 .D74 2017
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant provides students with the tools required to interpret the physical therapy evaluation and replicate the measurements and tests. This text guides students in learning how to utilize case information and documentation furnished by the PT to assist in the follow-up treatment. Key Features Include: - Relevant anatomy and terminology review - Comprehensive coverage of tests and measures arranged by system - Pertinent documentation examples - Excellent photographs and graphics - Easy-to-understand descriptions and explanations
Call Number: RM725 .F78 2020
Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A COMPLETE INTRODUCTION TO THE ART, SCIENCE, AND PRACTICE OF PHYSICAL THERAPY Companion DVD includes video of more than 50 techniques Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills is intended to provide a foundation uponwhich to build a career in the challenging yet rewarding field of physical therapy. Written by a practicing physical therapist, this comprehensive textbook provides the conceptual framework necessary to understand every aspect of physical therapy and eventually perform physical therapy intervention. Included in this conceptual framework are a historical perspective of the physical therapy profession, an introduction to healthcare policy, and a definition of evidence-informed practice. In addition, various chapters describe how movement evolves, how that movement becomesskilled, and how movement dysfunction can occur or develop. Later chapters introduce you to the knowledge and practical skills necessary for the general practice of physical therapy and provide the groundwork for the development of specific areas of clinical expertise, including how to enhance a patient's function in such tasks as bed mobility, transfers, and gait training. Throughout the appropriate chapters, emphasis is placed on both patient and clinician safety through the use of correct body mechanics, the application of assistive and safety devices, and effective infection control procedures. To facilitate learning, Introduction to Physical Therapy and Patient Skills includes a companion DVD that provides video coverage of more than 50 of the techniques discussed in the book.
Call Number: RM701 .D888 2014
Medical Law and Ethics by For all courses in medical law and/or ethics in programs for nurses, medical assistants, and all allied health care professions Written for health professionals of all kinds--not lawyers--Medical Law and Ethics covers the full spectrum of topics that affect practice. Fully updated coverage includes: the legal system, professional liability and medical malpractice, physician's responsibilities, medical records, ethical and bioethical issues, and current regulations. Actual legal cases illuminate subjects ranging from patient confidentiality and abortion to death and dying. Med Tips provide quick scenarios and guidance about law and ethics. Each chapter contains glossary terms, exercises, and an actual case; appendices provide current sample codes of ethics.
Call Number: KF3821 .F74 2016
Mobility in Context by A focus on developing the foundational knowledge, clinical expertise, and problem-solving skills required to work safely and effectively in both common and unexpected patient situations. Icons throughout the text highlight important concepts and care skills. "Watch Out!" "Keeping Current," and "Clinical Tips" boxes cover important safety reminders, recent research, and pointers for effectiveness and efficiency in the clinic. "Try This," "Clinical Reality Check," "Thinking It Through," and "Pathophysiology" boxes provide additional learning enhancements. A wealth of clinical examples mirror today's patient populations. Over 750 photographs and illustrations to bring concepts to life. Narrated video clips with closed captioning online at DavisPlus demonstrate must-know techniques.
Call Number: RT87 .T72 J64 2018
Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy by Now completely updated with the latest information on both adult and pediatric patients, this comprehensive book provides a link between the pathophysiology of neurologic deficits and possible rehabilitation interventions for improving movement outcomes. It introduces the structure and function of the nervous system and describes normal motor development, motor control and motor learning, pathophysiology of the nervous system and common treatment techniques used in physical therapy practice. This edition also features updated terminology from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, as well as new chapters on proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation (PNF) and other neurological conditions seen in the adult. Helpful learning aids and abundant illustrations highlight key concepts and help readers quickly master the material. Comprehensive coverage of neurologic rehabilitation explores concepts in neuroanatomy, motor control and motor learning, motor development, and evidence-based treatment of adults and children with neuromuscular impairments. Over 700 photos and drawings clarify concepts, show anatomy, physiology, evaluation, and pathology, and depict the most current rehabilitation procedures and technology. Case studies demonstrate the patient examination and treatment process, and show how to achieve consistency in documentation. Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation chapter describes how PNF can be used to improve a patient's performance of functional tasks by increasing strength, flexibility, and range of motion - key to the treatment of individuals post stroke. Review questions are included at the end of each chapter, with answers at the back of the book. Illustrated step-by-step intervention boxes, tables, and charts highlight important information, and make it easy to find instructions quickly. Use of language of the APTA Guide to Physical Therapist Practice ensures that you understand and comply with best practices recommended by the APTA. NEW photographs of interventions and equipment reflect the most current rehabilitation procedures and technology. UPDATED study resources on the Evolve companion website include an intervention collection, study tips, and additional review questions and interactive case studies.
Call Number: RC350 .P48 M37 2016
Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant by Understand the why behind diseases and disorders and how it affects what you do in everyday practice with Goodman and Fuller's Pathology Essentials for the Physical Therapist Assistant, 2nd Edition. This reader-friendly book serves as both a great learning guide and reference tool as it covers all the pathology-related information that is most relevant to what you, the future or practicing physical therapy assistant, need to know. Each chapter takes a well-organized approach as it defines each pathology disorder; describes the appropriate physical therapy assessments, interventions, guidelines, precautions, and contraindications; and rounds out the discussion with relevant case study examples based on established practice patterns. This new edition also features new critical thinking questions and clinical scenarios on Evolve which bring the material to life and help you see how the information in the book can be applied to the day-to-day work of a physical therapist assistant. PTA-specific information and reading level provides easy-to-follow guidance that is specific to the role of the PTA in managing patients. Special Implications for the PTA sections offer a starting point when addressing a particular condition for the first time. Medical management section addresses diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis for each condition discussed. Easy-to-follow, consistent format features a well-organized approach that defines each disorder followed by sections on clinical manifestations and medical management. More than 700 full-color images help'reinforce understanding of disease conditions and general pathology principles. Coverage of basic science information and the clinical implications of disease within the rehabilitation process gives readers a solid background in common illnesses and diseases, adverse effects of drugs, organ transplantation, laboratory values, and much more. Terminology and language from the Guide to Physical Therapy Practice is used throughout the text to familiarize readers with the standardized terminology that's used in practice. Abundance of tables and boxes organize and summarize important points making it easy to access key information. Twelve e-chapters offer supplemental information in the areas of behavioral issues, the gastrointestinal system, vestibular disorders and more. NEW! Clinical scenarios on the Evolve companion website look at patients who have variety of comorbidities and the many factors to consider when evaluating and treating. NEW! Critical thinking questions on the Evolve companion website help users apply the knowledge gained from the text. NEW! Vocab builders set the stage by framing upcoming information in the text.
Call Number: RB113 .G66 2017
Patient Practitioner Interaction by For over 20 years, Patient Practitioner Interaction: An Experiential Manual for Developing the Art of Health Care has been the cornerstone textbook for health care professionals to learn and develop effective interpersonal professional behavior. Building on the foundational knowledge of past editions, the updated Sixth Edition continues to teach health care professionals how to develop self-awareness and communication skills critical to providing ethical, compassionate, and professional treatment and care for and with their patients. Drs. Carol M. Davis and Gina Maria Musolino designed the textbook to assist both faculty and students through instructional and learning objectives emphasizing the importance of self-awareness in patient interaction. The Sixth Edition guides faculty in teaching the essential component required of all health care professionals: the ability to know oneself and one's patterns of response in highly contentious situations. Through the featured learning activities and chapters on self-awareness and self-assessment, students will be able to better understand, change, and evaluate their learned patterns, values, and readiness for mature patient interactions for both typical and challenging patient care situations. The learned skills of self-awareness and effective interpersonal communication allow clinicians, faculty, and students to provide compassionate and therapeutic treatment and care for the good of the patients and their families. Developing health care providers are also guided in new focus areas in health care leadership and advocacy through interactive exercises. Features and benefits of the Sixth Edition: Four chapters on self-awareness to guide students in evaluating their values and readiness for mature interaction with patients under stressful situations, as well as their ability and capability for self-assessment and peer-assessment Interactive and online learning activities of real-life clinical situations and vignettes with tools provided to use in the classroom to make learning active and engaging. New content areas addressing leadership and advocacy with professional and community organizations; and self and peer assessment for fostering reflective professional development. An accompanying Instructor's Manual to help faculty learn how to convey the material in effective ways Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Patient Practitioner Interaction: An Experiential Manual for Developing the Art of Health Care, Sixth Edition will continue to be the go-to resource for students, faculty, and clinicians in allied health professions for effective patient interaction.
Call Number: RM705 .D38 2016
Physical Agents in Rehabilitation by With straightforward, in-depth coverage of the use of physical agents to improve patient outcomes, Physical Agents in Rehabilitation: An Evidence-Based Approach to Practice, 5th Edition reflects how physical agents and modalities are being taught in the classroom. This new edition brings the ideal balance of evidence and practical instruction to the teaching and practice of physical agents in rehabilitation. Comprehensive coverage of all physical agents includes the mechanisms, clinical effects, and application techniques for thermal agents, ultrasound, electrical currents, electromagnetic radiation, hydrotherapy, traction, and compression. Plus, each chapter includes a scientific rationale and step-by-step instructions in the use of the agent(s), as well as up-to-date research support and new Find the Evidence tables. The new edition is supported with electronic ancillaries including review questions for students, PowerPoints®, and links to all references on Medline. Comprehensive coverage of all physical agents includes the mechanisms, clinical effects, and application techniques for thermal agents, ultrasound, electrical currents, electromagnetic radiation, hydrotherapy, traction, and compression. Find the Evidence tables guide the reader in finding up-to-date, patient-specific evidence using the PICO framework. UNIQUE Step-by-step illustrated application techniques boxesguide you in reproducing effective treatment options. Electronic ancillaries Electrical Stimulation, Ultrasound & Laser Light Handbook helps you to understand the material and can be printed out for quick reference to use in the clinical setting. NEW! Chapter on biofeedback complements the coverage of powered devices used in rehabilitation. UNIQUE! New Find the Evidence tables guide the reader in finding up-to-date, patient-specific evidence using the PICO framework.
Call Number: RM700 .C276 2018
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs by Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Third Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. This Third Edition reflects updates featured in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, as well as contemporary documentation requirements and best practices. With its user-friendly format that includes tabbed sections for easy referencing and the inclusion of clinical pearls for the PTA, this handbook is a valuable resource for PTA practitioners and students alike. KEY UPDATES: * Features new, easy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the text * Includes extensively revised integumentary content, with illustrations of cancerous skin lesions and vascular ulcerations as well as coverage of dressing choices for wound care management * Addresses Electronic Medical Records as part of clinical documentation coverage, along with ICF terminology and the APTA's defensible documentation guidelines * Provides a range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient * Features an expanded section on domestic violence and elder abuse in relation to its discussion of safety in the clinical environment * Incorporates a prosthetic wear-time schedule * Includes kyphoplasty considerations in detailing spinal surgery procedures and precautions Applicable Courses: * Clinical Practicum * Clinical Education * Clinical Experience
Call Number: RM705 .C55 2018
PTAexam by Physical therapy assistant exam review and preparation.
Call Number: RM701.6 .G554 2013
Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant by Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant will help you develop skills to recognize signs and symptoms that can compromise patient care, It is the first text to present a consistent, three-step model for monitoring patients for red flags relating to neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems, medical diseases, side effects of medications, and other co-morbidities that may be unknown to the PT. Combining the insights of physical therapist Catherine Cavallaro Goodman and physical therapist assistant Charlene Marshall, this resource is unmatched in providing clear guidelines for finding and documenting red flags. Coverage of warning flags includes red and yellow flags, risk factors, clinical presentation, signs and symptoms, helpful screening clues, and guidelines for communicating with the PT, allowing you as the PTA to quickly recognize the need for any re-evaluation of the patient. Three-step approach to formative assessments of physical therapy patients provides a consistent way to watch for and report on adverse changes such as range of motion, strength, pain, balance, coordination, swelling, endurance, or gait deviations. PTA Action Plans show the clinical application of text material relating to observing, documenting, and reporting red (or yellow) flags to the physical therapist. Clinically relevant information includes the tools that you need to monitor the patient's response to selected interventions, and accurately and quickly report changes to the supervising PT. Picture the Patient sections address what to look for when assessing or working with patients, especially typical red flag signs and symptoms of emerging problems. Case examples and critical thinking activities connect theory to practice, showing the role of the PTA and how the PTA can integrate clinical observations with clinical reasoning skills so that they can. Cognitive processing-reasoning approach encourages you to learn to gather and analyze data, pose and solve problems, infer, hypothesize, and make clinical judgments, so that you can notify the supervising PT of clients who need further evaluation or may require a referral or consultation with other health care professionals. Summary boxes and tables highlight key information for quick reference. Key terminology is listed in each chapter, which each term bolded within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Full-color illustrations and design clearly demonstrate pathologies and processes and make lookup easier in busy clinical settings. An Evolve companion website enhances your problem-solving and decision-making skills with additional case studies, problem-solving questions, and activities, as well as screening tools and checklists. Combined authorship by a physical therapist and physical therapist assistant provides an authoritative and unique voice in the PTA field.
Call Number: RM700 .G57 2015
The Role of the Physical Therapist Assistant by Explores the PTA's role as the preferred extender of PT care and the importance of building strong relationships with PTs. Addresses the transition from clinical to the real-world of professional practice in the chapter, Beginning your Career, Post-Graduation Advanced Learning and Skill Development, perfect for capstone courses. Emphasizes American Physical Therapy Association's (APTA) policies and positions as well as the World Health Organization's (WHO) International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) model. Addresses issues of role delineation, teamwork, professionalism and leadership development. Offers "Reflection Bullets" throughout each chapter and "Review and Application" sections at the end. Features a workbook-like design with perforated, tear-out pages.
Call Number: RM705 .C59 2017
Therapeutic Exercise by Superb art program, including anatomical illustrations, line drawings, photographs, and radiographs "Focus on Evidence" boxes summarizing current literature "Management Guideline" boxes "Pathology/Surgical Procedure" and "Preferred Practice Pattern tables "Post-Surgery Outcome" boxes Clinical examples throughout. Case studies at the end of selected chapters Clinical laboratory activities and questions for critical thinking and discussion at the end of every chapter
Call Number: RM725 .K53 2018
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library