Skip to main content

Translanguaging, TESOL, and Second Language Education: Find Articles

Databases related to TESOL and second language education

  • Library Education databases

  • EBSCOhost Espanol (Spanish) Spanish-language interface to select EBSCO databases (articles are in English and databases must be searched in English).

  • Informe Academico Access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals both from and about Latin America.

Databases with Translation Features

Gale Virtual Reference Library allows people to run a machine translation on articles in their database.  The translation option is near the bottom of the right hand Tools section.

Example: 

Githinji, Peter. "Translanguaging and Negotiation of Ethnicity: Reproduction of Hegemonic Structures in Communication Media.Cultural Identity and New Communication TechnologiesPolitical, Ethnic and Ideological Implications, edited by D. Ndirangu Wachanga, Information Science Reference, 2011, pp. 213-234. Gale Virtual Reference Libraryhttp://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX1525400024/GVRL?u=cuny_laguardia&sid=GVRL&xid=a6ec252c

Academic Search Complete allows users to run a machine translation on HTML Full Text articles in their Tools section.  The translation option is near the bottom of the toolbar.  The translation option is not available for Full Text PDFs.

Example: 

Pacheco, Mark B., and Mary E. Miller. “Making Meaning Through Translanguaging in the Literacy Classroom.” Reading Teacher, vol. 69, no. 5, Mar. 2016, pp. 533–537. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1002/trtr.1390. https://mail.lagcc.cuny.edu/viplogin/default.aspx?redirect=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=113529577&site=ehost-live

Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library