Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
The Wretched of the Earth by
Call Number: Stacks DT33 .F313 2004
A distinguished psychiatrist from Martinique who took part in the Algerian Nationalist Movement, Frantz Fanon was one of the most important theorists of revolutionary struggle, colonialism, and racial difference in history.
Being Apart by
Call Number: PR9340.5 .P37 2015
Publication Date: 2015
A Companion to African-American Philosophy by
Publication Date: Stacks B944 .A37 C66 2003
Provides a comprehensive critical survey of African-American philosophical thought. Serves as a benchmark work of reference for courses in philosophy, social and political thought, cultural studies, and African-American studies.
The Souls of Black Folk by
Call Number: Stacks E185.6 .D797 2009b
W.E.B. DuBois was the foremost black intellectual of his time. The Souls of Black Folk (1903), his most influential work, is a collection of fourteen beautifully written essays, by turns lyrical, historical, and autobiographical.
The Philosophy of Alain Locke by
Call Number: Stacks E185.97 .L79 P48 1989
This collection of essays by American philosopher Alain Locke (1885-1954) includes his important writings on cultural pluralism, value relativism, and critical relativism. As a black philosopher early in this century, Locke was perhaps best known as a leading figure in the Harlem Renaissance.
Cornel West and Philosophy by
Call Number: Stacks E185.86 .J62 2003
C. L. R. James Reader by
Call Number: Stacks (PR 9272.9 .J35 A6 1992
Race Matters by
Call Number: E185.615 .W43 2001
The fundamental litmus test for American democracy-its economy, government, criminal justice system, education, mass media, and culture-remains- how broad and intense are the arbitrary powers used and deployed against black people. Race Matters contains West's most powerful essays on the issues relevant to black Americans today- despair, black conservatism, black-Jewish relations, myths about black sexuality, the crisis in leadership in the black community, and the legacy of Malcolm X.
Race-Ing Moral Formation by
Call Number: Stacks E185.86 .R244 2004
In this volume the editors incorporate the experiences of African Americans into the discourse on moral-development theory and moral education.
Colonial Discourse and Post-Colonial Theory by
Call Number: Stacks JV 51 .C73 1994
Equally suitable for undergraduates and specialists in the humanities, this collection provides an in-depth introduction to debates within post-colonial theory and criticism. This volume explores such issues as the nature of colonized cultures and anti-colonial resistance; subaltern historiography; constructions of Western subjectivity, knowledge, and gender; the formation of post-colonial intellectuals; the metropolitan institutionalization of post-colonialism; neo-colonialism; and the nature of minority and post-colonial identity and discourse.
Keeping Faith by
Call Number: E 185.615 .W427 1993
Keeping Faith situates the current position of African Americans, tracing the geneology of the "Afro-American Rebellion" from Martin Luther King to the rise of black revolutionary leftists.
Lewis R. Gordon & Africana Philosophy at LaGuardia Library
An Introduction to Africana Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
In this undergraduate textbook Lewis R. Gordon offers the first comprehensive treatment of Africana philosophy, beginning with the emergence of an Africana (i.e. African diasporic) consciousness in the Afro-Arabic world of the Middle Ages.
A Companion to African-American Studies by
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
A Companion to African-American Studies is an exciting and comprehensive re-appraisal of the history and future of African American studies. Contains original essays by expert contributors in the field of African-American Studies
What White Looks Like by
Call Number: Stacks E185.615 W438 2004
Publication Date: 2004-02-24
Includes a chapter by Lewis Gordon: Whiteness and Africana phenomenology
African-American Philosophers by
Call Number: Stacks B 944 .A37 A37 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-06
Includes a discussion with Lewis R. Gordon
Africana Philosophy at LaGuardia Library
The House That Race Built by
Call Number: Stacks E 185.615 .H68 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-24
In these essays, brought together by the scholar Wahneema Lubiano, some of today's most respected intellectuals share their ideas on race, power, gender, and society.
The New Jim Crow by
Call Number: HV9950 .A437 2010
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
In a bold and innovative argument, a rising legal star shows readers how the mass incarceration of a disproportionate number of black men amounts to a devastating system of racial control.
The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey by
Call Number: Stacks E185.97 .G3 A25 1986
The most famous collection of Garvey's speeches and essays in a special centennial edition.
How We Get Free by
Call Number: HQ1426 .H689 2017
Reflections on the legacy and impact of radical black feminists of the 1960s on today's feminist and anti-racist movements. The Combahee River Collective, a path-breaking group of radical black feminists, was one of the most important organizations to develop out of the antiracist and women's liberation movements of the 1960s and 70s.
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by
Call Number: E185.86 .T373 2016
With the slogan of 'Black Lives Matter', a burgeoning movement has awakened a new generation of activists. In this stirring and insightful analysis, activist and scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor surveys the historical and contemporary ravages of racism and argues that the persistence of structural problems such as mass incarceration and Black unemployment have created a context in which this new struggle against police violence holds the potential to reignite a broader push for Black liberation.
Black Marxism by
Call Number: Stacks HX 436.5 .R63 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-24
First published in 1983, Cedric Robinson demonstrates that efforts to understand black people's history of resistance solely through the prism of Marxist theory are incomplete and inaccurate. Black radicalism must be linked to the traditions of Africa and the unique experiences of blacks on western continents.
The Crunk Feminist Collection by
Call Number: Stacks HQ1421 .C78 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
For the Crunk Feminist Collective, their academic day jobs were lacking in conversations they actually wanted - relevant, real conversations about how race and gender politics intersect with pop culture and current events. To address this void, they started a blog. Now with an annual readership of nearly one million, their posts foster dialogue about activist methods, intersectionality, and sisterhood.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library