Social Science Research Guide: Anthropology

CQ Researcher

Weekly reports on issues in the news.

The New York Times 1851-2017 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Historical articles published in The New York York Times.

The New York Times (via nytimes.com — register using your LaGuardia email address)

1. Click on “Register” to create a NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. If your email address is from an eligible school, you will then see “Check your email.” Click on the link in our confirmation.
3. If you don’t get the confirmation email, check your spam filter. If you still do not receive it, send an email from your school email account to edu@nytimes.com.

• American Anthropological Association
• National Museum of Natural History: Department of Anthropology​

SocINDEX with Full Text

Sociology research database.

JSTOR

Scholarly journal articles in area studies, art, business & economics, history, humanities, law, medicine & allied health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. 

Black Thought and Culture

Covers the non-fiction work of leading African Americans, from Colonial times to the present.

Opposing Viewpoints

Source for information on today's most controversial and talked about social issues; features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, websites, and magazine & newspaper articles. 

Social Sciences Full Text/Retrospective

Covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. 

21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Encyclopedia of Archaeology

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Anthropology: What Does it Mean to be Human?

Essentials of Cultural Anthropology: A Toolkit for a Global Age

The Field Journal for Cultural Anthropology​