LibGuides: International Relations and Global Studies: Sample Database Search Results

Links to Select Article Database Search Results

Academic One File -- "international relations" (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to a search result list in the Academic One File article database for a full-text search for the term "international relations". Off-campus access to the results requires login.
Academic Search Complete -- "international relations" (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to a search result list in the Academic Search Complete article database for a full-text search for the term "international relations". Off-campus access to the results requires login.
New York Times 1851-2015 (ProQuest) -- "foreign policy" (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to a search results list for "foreign policy" in the New York Times 1851-2015 (ProQuest) database.
Opposing Veiwpoints - Afghan War (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on the Afghan War in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. The ongoing war in Afghanistan is the longest military conflict in which the United States has been involved. Public support for the war has waned since it first began in 2001 following the September 11 attacks by members of al-Qaeda, an international terrorist organization supported by the Taliban government in Afghanistan. Drawing parallels to US involvement in Vietnam, many analysts and voters have expressed concern that the war is unwinnable, and advocated for the withdrawal of US forces. The war began under the administration of President George W. Bush. His successors Barack Obama and Donald Trump both campaigned on promises to end the war. However, Obama and Trump both authorized sending additional troops shortly after taking office.
Opposing Viewpoints -- Africa (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Africa in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Africa, the second largest continent on Earth, occupies 20 percent of the planet’s land mass. It is surrounded by the Mediterranean and Red Seas and the Indian and Atlantic Oceans. The predominant geographic feature of Africa’s interior is the Sahara, the world’s largest desert, which separates the northern region of the continent and the Nile River valley from the southern, or sub-Saharan, countries. Anthropologists believe that the human species originated in Africa between two and four million years ago and that the early humans migrated from there to other continents. At present, the continent is home to more than one billion people representing 3,000 different ethnic groups and speaking more than 1,000 living languages.
Opposing Viewpoints -- Foreign Aid (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Foreign Aid in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Foreign aid refers to money or other resources that one country provides to another, either as a gift or loan. Such aid may be offered to strengthen diplomatic relations between the two nations or because the recipient has experienced serious misfortune, such as famine or natural disaster. Countries may offer weapons and other resources to countries engaged in conflict in areas where regional security is important to the country offering aid. Though foreign aid is often discussed in terms of a country's moral obligation to help others in their time of need, the donor country benefits from having strong, economically stable allies.
Opposing Viewpoints -- Free Trade (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Free Trade in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Free trade is a system of trade between nations that does not impose special taxes or restrictions on imported or exported goods. Prime examples of free trade agreements include the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the European Economic Area (EEA). Though many countries adhere to the joint trade policies established by the World Trade Organization (WTO), many nations still utilize taxes and export subsidies to protect national employment
Opposing Viewpoints -- Human Rights (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Human Rights in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Human rights are universal rights to which all people are entitled. The first formal, international statement of human rights was laid out by the United Nations in the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), which describes a "universal recognition that basic rights and fundamental freedoms are inherent to all human beings, inalienable and equally applicable to everyone, and that every one of us is born free and equal in dignity and rights." Inalienable rights are rights that cannot be sold, given, or transferred without the consent of the person who holds them. The Universal Declaration contains thirty articles that identify and define various human rights.
Opposing Viewpoints -- Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Israeli-Palestinian Conflict in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Palestine is an area in the Middle East bounded to the west by the Mediterranean Sea, to the north by Lebanon, to the south by the Sinai Desert, and to the east by the Jordan River. It is occupied at present by two peoples or national groups, Israelis and Arabs. Israel, a democratic republic that identifies itself as a Jewish state, was founded in 1948, and in 2016 had a population of 8.17 million people (74.8 percent Jewish, 17.6 percent Arab, and 7.6 percent other). The term "Palestinians" denotes Arabs whose place of personal or recent-ancestral origin is Palestine.
Opposing Viewpoints -- Terrorism (Off-campus login required to access results) This is a permalink to the issue on Terrorism in Gale's Opposing Viewpoints article database. Terrorism refers to violence—or the threat of violence—used to achieve a political goal. Terrorism may be carried out by individuals or groups that operate by stealth rather than by open assault. Government entities also practice terrorism by sponsoring attacks against foreign states or individuals considered to be enemies. Terrorism is often aimed at civilian or nonmilitary targets, and its unpredictable nature makes it a powerful weapon. One of the primary objectives of a terrorist attack is to spread fear.