Teaching Race: How to help students unmask and challenge racism by
A real-world how-to manual for talking about race in the classroom Educators and activists frequently call for the need to address the lingering presence of racism in higher education. Yet few books offer specific suggestions and advice on how to introduce race to students who believe we live in a post-racial world where racism is no longer a real issue. In Teaching Race the authors offer practical tools and techniques for teaching and discussing racial issues at predominately White institutions of higher education. As current events highlight the dynamics surrounding race and racism on campus and the world beyond, this book provides teachers with essential training to facilitate productive discussion and raise racial awareness in the classroom. A variety of teaching and learning experts provide insights, tips, and guidance on running classroom discussions on race. They present effective approaches and activities to bring reluctant students into a consideration of race and explore how White teachers can model racial awareness, thereby inviting students into the process of examining their own white identity. Racism, whether evident in overt displays or subconscious bias, has repercussions that reverberate far beyond the campus grounds. As the cultural climate increasingly calls out for more research, education, and dialogue on race and racism, this book helps teachers spotlight issues related to race in a way that leads to effective classroom and campus conversation. The book provides guidance on how to: Create the conditions that facilitate respectful racial dialogue by building trust and effectively negotiating conflict. Uncover each student's own subconscious bias and the intersectionality that exists even in the most homogenous-appearing classrooms. Help students embrace discomfort, and adapt discussion methods to accommodate issues of race and positionality. Avoid common traps, mistakes, and misconceptions encountered in anti-racist teaching
Teaching about Race and Racism in the College: Notes from a white professor Classroom by
Teaching about race and racism can be a difficult business. Students and instructors alike often struggle with strong emotions, and many people have robust preexisting beliefs about race. At the same time, this is a moment that demands a clear understanding of racism. It is important for students to learn how we got here and how racism is more than just individual acts of meanness. Students also need to understand that colorblindness is not an effective anti-racism strategy. In this book, Cyndi Kernahan argues that you can be honest and unflinching in your teaching about racism while also providing a compassionate learning environment that allows for mistakes and avoids shaming students. She provides evidence for how learning works with respect to race and racism along with practical teaching strategies rooted in that evidence to help instructors feel more confident. She also differentiates between how white students and students of color are likely to experience the classroom, helping instructors provide a more effective learning experience for all students.
National Healing: Race, state, and the teaching of composition by
In "National Healing," author Claude Hurlbert persuasively relates nationalism to institutional racism and contends that these are both symptoms of a national ill health afflicting American higher education and found even in the field of writing studies. Teachers and scholars, even in progressive fields like composition, are unwittingly at odds with their own most liberatory purposes, he says, and he advocates consciously broadening our understanding of rhetoric and writing instruction to include rhetorical traditions of non-Western cultures. Threading a personal narrative of his own experiences as a student, professor, and citizen through a wide ranging discussion of theory, pedagogy, and philosophy in the writing classroom, Hurlbert weaves a vision that moves beyond simple polemic and simplistic multiculturalism. "National Healing" offers a compelling new aesthetic, epistemological, and rhetorical configuration.
Antiracist Writing Assessment Ecologies: teaching and assessing writing for a socially just future by
PERSPECTIVES ON WRITING - Series Editors: SUSAN H. MCLEOD and RICH RICE - In ANTIRACIST WRITING ASSESSMENT ECOLOGIES, ASAO B. INOUE theorizes classroom writing assessment as a complex system that is "more than" its interconnected elements. To explain how and why antiracist work in the writing classroom is vital to literacy learning, Inoue incorporates ideas about the white racial habitus that informs dominant discourses in the academy and other contexts. Inoue helps teachers understand the unintended racism that often occurs when teachers do not have explicit antiracist agendas in their assessments. Drawing on his own teaching and classroom inquiry, Inoue offers a heuristic for developing and critiquing writing assessment ecologies that explores seven elements of any writing assessment ecology: power, parts, purposes, people, processes, products, and places. - ASAO B. INOUE is Director of University Writing and Associate Professor of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences at the University of Washington Tacoma. He has published on writing assessment, validity, and composition pedagogy in Assessing Writing, The Journal of Writing Assessment, Composition Forum, and Research in the Teaching of English, among other journals and collections. His co-edited collection Race and Writing Assessment (2012) won the CCCC's Outstanding Book Award for an edited collection.
See our Teaching #BlackLivesMatter guide: guides.laguardia.edu/teachingblm
Advancing Social Justice: Tools, Pedagogies, and Strategies to Transform Your Campus by
This groundbreaking book offers educators a clear understanding of the concept of social justice and includes effective practices to help them promote social justice and address identity development on their campuses. In the first half of the book, the authors clarify the definition of social justice as an approach that examines and acknowledges the institutional and historical systems of power and privilege on individual identity and relationships. They provide important frameworks and foundational aspects of understanding social justice, and several chapters explore identity development using the critical lenses of history and context, concentrating on ways that oppression and privilege are manifest in the lived experiences of students. In the second half of the book, the authors supply educators with the conceptual tools and strategies need to infuse a social justice approach into their work with students and within their institutions. They highlight important concepts to consider in designing and implementing effective social justice interventions and provide examples of effective social justice programs.
Art and Social Justice Education : culture as commons by
Art and Social Justice Education offersnbsp;inspiration and tools for educatorsnbsp;to craft critical, meaningful, and transformative arts education curriculum and arts integration projects. The images, descriptive texts, essays, and resources are grounded within a clear social justice framework and linked to ideas about culture as commons. Essays and a section written by and for teachers who have already incorporatednbsp;contemporary artistsnbsp;and ideas into their curriculums help readers to imagine ways to use the content in their own settings.nbsp;This book is enhanced by anbsp;Companion Website (www.routledge.com/cw/quinn) featuring artists and artworks, project examples, and dialogue threads for educators. Proposing that art can contribute in a wide range of ways to the work of envisioning and making a more just world, this imaginative, practical, and engaging sourcebooknbsp;of contemporary artists'nbsp;works and education resources advances the field of arts education, locally, nationally, and internationally, by moving beyond models of discipline-based or expressive art education. It will be welcomed by all educators seeking to include the arts and social justice in their curricula.
All the Women Are White, All the Blacks are Men, but Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies by
Winner of the Outstanding Women of Colour Award, and the Women Educator's Curriculum Material Award, this ground-breaking collection provides a wealth of materials needed to develop course units on Black women, from political theory to literary essays on major writers to work on Black women's contributions to the blues. Bibliographies and a collection of syllabi provide readers with essential classroom materials and a map for further research. For course use in: African American studies, feminist thought, lesbian studies, racism and sexism, women's studies.