Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Handbooks and Data
Conversion of Units
An online conversion calculator from the Institute of Chemistry at the Freie Universität Berlin.
PDS: Planetary System Data
An archive and source of scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
Physical Reference Data
A series of online databases hosted by NIST containing physical constants, spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data and more
NASA's High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
The primary archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena, from black holes to the Big Bang.
Digital Lunar Orbiter Photographic Atlas of the Moon
The definitive reference manual to the global photographic coverage of the Moon, a reproduction of the 675 plates contained in NASA SP-206, written by Bowker and Hughes.
Landolt Bornstein Group VI Astronomy and Astrophysics
Preview volumes of print in Science Reference: QC61.L2582
Includes position and time determination, astronomical constants, abundances of the elements in the universe, the solar system, special types of stars, star clusters and associations and more.
Digital Sky Survey
Sloan and Palomar Sky Surveys
Other online sources
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences - Comprehensive yearly volumes of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the earth and planetary sciences fields.
HyperPhysics - A free online resource covering many topics in astrophysics (and other branches of physics), maintained at Georgia State University.
Weisstein's World of Astronomy - A free online resource covering many topics in astronomy, maintained by Wolfram Research.
Astrophysics: a Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: Click on link to view EBOOK
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Astrophysics is the physics of the stars, and more widely the physics of the Universe. It enables us to understand the structure and evolution of planetary systems, stars, galaxies, interstellar gas, and the cosmos as a whole.In this Very Short Introduction, the leading astrophysicist James Binney shows how the field of astrophysics has expanded rapidly in the past century, with vast quantities of data gathered by telescopes exploiting all parts of the electromagnetic spectrum, combined with the rapid advance ofcomputing power, which has allowed increasingly effective mathematical modelling. He illustrates how the application of fundamental principles of physics - the consideration of energy and mass, and momentum - and the two pillars of relativity and quantum mechanics, has provided insights intophenomena ranging from rapidly spinning millisecond pulsars to the collision of giant spiral galaxies. This is a clear, rigorous introduction to astrophysics for those keen to cut their teeth on a conceptual treatment involving some mathematics.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Astronomy by
Call Number: LaGuardia Reference QB14 .M36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-24
This second edition of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Astronomy aims to provide a major revision of the trade edition of the astronomy content in the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms (based on the 6th edition). It covers the principal disciplines of astronomy and contains approximately 3600 entries, each accompanied by a pronunciation guide.
Space Sciences by
Call Number: Click on link to view EBOOK
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
John F. McCoy, ed. 2nd ed. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA, 2012. 1850 pp. 4 vols.
From the history of space exploration to the future of "space business", this set offers a broad survey of the space sciences. Includes biographies of scientists and the space-related job market.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library