Designing an Innovative Pedagogy for Sustainable Development in Higher Education by
Designing an Innovative Pedagogy for Sustainable Development in Higher Education This book develops a "green pedagogy" and an innovation mindset in higher education by using approaches based on innovative design thinking, arts-based practices, digital transformation, and entrepreneurship for sustainable development. New pedagogical methods and educational solutions are developed throughout this book to offer pedagogical support to both students and university/college-level instructors. This book leads students as well as their instructors, through an artful and experimental way of thinking and doing, to take the ownership of the co-creation process. This is the basis for increasing social responsibility, motivation and commitment, and fostering creativity and innovation. An educational toolkit, including human-centric design methods, digital tools, creative and arts-based practices, innovation-related skills, and nascent and social entrepreneurship competencies, is provided for higher education instructors. This method kit will help instructors support students in the process of creating new knowledge for addressing real-world problems and enhance their societal involvement, foster entrepreneurial spirit, and reach opportunities for a sustainable future. Features Discusses arts-based education and entrepreneurship-based skills. Presents digital transformation and innovation-related skills for sustainable development. Proposes an experimental culture of thinking and doing. Provides agile and collaborative development methodology. Leads students to be much more creative and innovative. Offers a method kit for instructors to respond to 21st-century requirements in the field of higher education.
The Wiley Handbook of Sustainability in Higher Education Learning and Teaching by
A comprehensive resource for higher education professionals interested in sustainability pedagogy In The Wiley Handbook of Sustainability in Higher Education Learning and Teaching, a team of distinguished researchers delivers an insightful reference for higher education professionals seeking to embed sustainability in learning and teaching. The book offers a way for higher education institutions to implement sustainability goals in their curricula and provides comprehensive guidance to educators, researchers and practitioners. The authors discuss recent developments in technological innovations, best practices, lessons learned, current challenges, and reflections in the area of sustainability teaching in higher education. They also examine the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on sustainability education. With contributors from a variety of disciplines, including engineering, medicine, urban design, business, environmental science, and social science, the book considers the embedding of sustainability in regenerative learning ecologies, living laboratories, and transgressive forms of learning. It also includes: A thorough introduction to activist learning for sustainability and outcome-based education towards achieving sustainable goals in higher education Comprehensive explorations of factors that hinder the implementation of sustainability initiatives in higher education institutions Practical discussions of developing stakeholder agency in higher education sustainability initiatives In-depth examinations of global trends and country-specific initiatives in sustainability teaching Perfect for education developers seeking to incorporate sustainability, The Wiley Handbook of Sustainability in Higher Education Learning and Teaching is also ideal for academics, researchers, policymakers, and accreditation personnel working in the area of sustainability.
Sustainable Development Disciplines for Humanity by
This Open Access book provides eight problem solving lectures for sustainable development for people, peace, and partnerships. Those are three of the five keywords for the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): people, the planet, prosperity, peace, and partnerships or “the 5Ps”. Each of these lectures is classified into one of the keywords for SDGs and based on the history of social thought, human development, law, education, sociology, and peace studies. Further, each lecture delineates the essence of each discipline when it is practically applied to development studies. This book, Sustainable Development Disciplines for Humanity, along with its sister volume related to the planet and prosperity, Society, will be useful in studying development. Interdisciplinary research is necessary to achieve the SDGs advocated by the United Nations. Hence, it is essential to learn the basics of individual disciplines, as they each offer ample knowledge fostering problem solving through the accumulation of existing research. This and its sister volume are the first comprehensive textbooks summarizing the essence of each necessary discipline to approach development studies from an interdisciplinary perspective. In developing countries, this book will provide access to development research for readers aiming to further develop their own nations. Moreover, in developed countries, the book will provide access to problem-solving research for readers seeking holistic solutions to complex social problems.
Civil and Environmental Engineering for the Sustainable Development Goals by
This open access volume collects emerging issues in Environmental and Civil Engineering, originating from outstanding doctoral dissertations discussed at Politecnico di Milano in 2021. The advanced innovative insights provided are presented with reference to the relevant sustainable development goals (SDGs), hoping that scientists, technicians and decision makers will find them as a valid support to face future sustainability challenges. Indeed, the fast evolution of our society often falls short in properly taking into consideration its relationship with the environment, which is not only the primary source of any resource and the sink of all the wastes we generate throughout our activities, but also the cause of most of the loading and constraints applied to structures and infrastructures. The lack of a proper consideration of the relationship between the needs of both the society and the environment may lead to strong disequilibria, generating a large amount of threats for a robust, resilient and continuous development. In this perspective, the SDGs set by the United Nations represent the criteria to revise our development model, towards the ability to conjugate different needs to build a safe relation between anthropic activities and the environment. Civil and Environmental Engineering plays a relevant role in providing methods, approaches, risk and impact assessments, as well as technologies, to fulfil the SDGs. Research in these fields may in fact provide technical knowledge and tools to support decision makers and technicians in: (i) planning mitigation and adaptation actions to climate change, extreme weather, earthquakes, drought, flooding and other natural disasters; (ii) designing efficient and sustainable strategies for resources exploitation, minimizing the impact and the unequal distributions; (iii) increasing the safety of structures and infrastructures under exceptional loadings and against the deterioration due to their lifecycle; (iv) adopting a holistic risk management approach and appropriate technologies to reduce pollution and environment deterioration, which increase vulnerability; (v) providing a safe drinking water and sanitation system to protect human health.
Teaching and Learning Strategies for Sustainable Development by
The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals challenges us all to promote sustainable development. Higher education is a key arena for educating students in sustainability and sustainable developments, and for producing research on these key issues.. This timely book explores the sustainable development goals, how well universities have been able to integrate them into their curriculum, and how universities can institutionalize the goals and sustainable development into their strategic plans and institutional culture. Authors from Nigeria, sub Saharan Africa, Italy and the Middle East explore how to achieve these targets in the face of shifting expectations.
Some links may require Library login.
Articles
Journals
Experiential Learning by
Experiential learning is a powerful and proven approach to teaching and learning that is based on one incontrovertible reality: people learn best through experience. Now, in this extensively updated book, David A. Kolb offers a systematic and up-to-date statement of the theory of experiential learning and its modern applications to education, work, and adult development. Experiential Learning, Second Edition builds on the intellectual origins of experiential learning as defined by figures such as John Dewey, Kurt Lewin, Jean Piaget, and L.S. Vygotsky, while also reflecting three full decades of research and practice since the classic first edition. Kolb models the underlying structures of the learning process based on the latest insights in psychology, philosophy, and physiology. Building on his comprehensive structural model, he offers an exceptionally useful typology of individual learning styles and corresponding structures of knowledge in different academic disciplines and careers. Kolb also applies experiential learning to higher education and lifelong learning, especially with regard to adult education. This edition reviews recent applications and uses of experiential learning, updates Kolb's framework to address the current organizational and educational landscape, and features current examples of experiential learning both in the field and in the classroom. It will be an indispensable resource for everyone who wants to promote more effective learning: in higher education, training, organizational development, lifelong learning environments, and online.
Re/humanizing Education by
Teaching and learning are profoundly personal experiences, yet systems of education often prioritize agendas that alienate people rather than engage them. Reconceptualizing teaching and learning as a co-constructed praxis places individuals at the heart of education and, in so doing, regards knowledge acquisition as a process of understanding that is dynamically and personally negotiated at the intersection of self, subject, and relationality. This approach, at once pedagogical and practical, has the capacity to transform the classroom from a place of containment to one of expansiveness. Through critical, qualitative, creative, and arts-integrated approaches, this collection aims to explore the co-curricular capacity of lived experience to re/humanize education. This is a timely project given the multiple race, health, environmental, and socio-political crises playing out on the world stage. Contributions include works by authors who explore: co-curricular inclusion of lived experience for its potential to create more equitable and representative curricula; co-curricular capacity of lived experience to advance relationality, both human and more than human; and co-curricular potential of lived experience to un/privilege the current prioritization of the quantifiable in favour of more inclusive and holistic epistemologies.
EService-Learning: Creating experiential learning and civic engagement through online and hybrid courses by
This book serves as an introduction to using online teaching technologies and hybrid forms of teaching for experiential learning and civic engagement. Service-learning has kept pace neither with the rapid growth in e-learning in all its forms nor with the reality that an increasing number of students are learning online without exposure to the benefits of this powerful pedagogy. Eservice-learning (electronic service-learning) combines service-learning and on-line learning and enables the delivery of the instruction and/or the service to occur partially or fully online. Eservice-learning allows students anywhere, regardless of geography, physical constraints, work schedule, or other access limitations, to experience service-learning. It reciprocally also equips online learning with a powerful tool for engaging students. In eservice-learning, the core components of service, learning, and reflection may take a different form due to the online medium--for example, reflection often occurs through discussion board interactions, journals, wikis, or blogs in an eservice-learning course. Moreover, the service, though still community-based, creates a world of opportunities to connect students with communities across the globe--as well as at their very own doorstep. This book introduces the reader to the four emerging types of eservice-learning, from Extreme EService-Learning (XE-SL) classes where 100% of the instruction and 100% of the service occur online, to three distinct forms of hybrid where either the service or the instruction are delivered wholly on-line - with students, for instance, providing online products for far-away community partners - or in which both are delivered on-site and online. It considers the instructional potential of common mobile technologies - phones, tablets and mobile reading devices. The authors also address potential limitations, such as technology challenges, difficulties sustaining three-way communication among the instructor, community partner, and students, and added workload. The book includes research studies on effectiveness as well as examples of practice such drafting grants for a community partner, an informational technology class building online communities for an autism group, and an online education class providing virtual mentoring to at-risk students in New Orleans from across the country.
Teaching for Experiential Learning by
This book describes how to change the way in which educators conduct business in the classroom. Our current educational systems lack ways to reach today's learners in relevant, meaningful ways. The five approaches in this book inspire and motivate students to learn.
Real and Relevant: A Guide for Service and Project-Based Learning by
Real and Relevant provides teachers with a realistic, integrated, and inspirational guide for how to lead service and project-based learning with their students. By engaging in service or project-based learning with students, you are doing nothing less than changing the world for the better. By letting your students explore and begin to solve real life problems, they acquire deeper knowledge, new skills, newfound motivation, responsibility and engagement.
Engaged Learning in the Academy by
Moore asks the question of whether and under what conditions experience constitutes a legitimate source of knowledge and learning in higher education. Drawing on theory and research, the book addresses three types of challenges and opportunities facing experiential educators: the epistemological, the pedagogical, and the institutional.
Assessment for Experiential Learning by
Chan's book explores the challenges in assessing experiential learning, deepens our understanding, and inspires readers to think critically about the purpose of assessment in experiential learning. Experiential learning has been studied and proven to be effective for student learning, particularly for the development of holistic competencies (i.e. 21st century skills, soft skills, transferable skills) considered essential for individuals to succeed in the increasingly global and technology-infused 21st century society. Universities around the world are now actively organising experiential learning activities or programmes for students to gain enriching and diversified learning experiences, however the assessment of these programmes tends to be limited, unclear, and contested. Assessment plays a central role in education policies and students' approach to learning. But do educators know how to assess less traditional learning such as service learning, entrepreneurship, cross-discipline or cross-cultural projects, internships and student exchanges? While the current assessment landscape is replete with assessments that measure knowledge of core content areas such as mathematics, law, languages, science and social studies, there is a lack of assessments and research that focus on holistic competencies. How do we assess students' ability to think critically, problem solve, adapt, self-manage and collaborate? Central to the discussion in this book, is the reason students are assessed and how they should be assessed to bring out their best learning outcomes.　Offering a collection of best assessment practice employed by teachers around the world, this volume brings together both theoretical and empirical research that underpins assessment; and perceptions of different stakeholders - understanding of assessment in experiential learning from students, teachers, and policymakers. The idea of assessment literacy also plays an important role in experiential learning, for example, reflection is often used in assessing students in experiential learning but how reflection literate are educators, are they aware of the ethical dilemmas that arise in assessing students? These questions are discussed in detail. The volume also introduces a quality assurance programme to recognise student development within experiential learning programmes. The book will be particularly informative to academic developers, teachers, students and community partners who struggle with the development and assessment for experiential learning, those who plan to apply for funding in experiential learning, and policymakers and senior managements seeking evidence and advice on fine-tuning curricular, assessment designs and quality assurance. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Experiential Learning in Philosophy by
In this volume, Julinna Oxley and Ramona Ilea bring together essays that examine and defend the use of experiential learning activities to teach philosophical terms, concepts, arguments, and practices. Experiential learning emphasizes the importance of student engagement outside the traditional classroom structure. Service learning, studying abroad, engaging in large-scale collaborative projects such as creating blogs, websites and videos, and practically applying knowledge in a reflective, creative and rigorous way are all forms of experiential learning. Taken together, the contributions to Experiential Learning in Philosophy argue that teaching philosophy is about doing philosophy with others. The book is divided into two sections: essays that engage in the philosophical debate about defining and implementing experiential learning, and essays that describe how to integrate experiential learning into the teaching of philosophy. Experiential Learning in Philosophy provides a timely reflection on best practices for teaching philosophical ideals and theories, an examination of the evolution of the discipline of philosophy and its adoption (or reclamation) of active modes of learning, and an anticipation of the ways in which pedagogical practices will continue to evolve in the 21st century.
The Palgrave Handbook of Experiential Learning in International Business by
The Handbook of Experiential Learning In International Business is a one-stop source for international managers, business educators and trainers who seek to either select and use an existing experiential learning project, or develop new projects and exercises of this kind.