Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Online: General Image Resources
Online: Topical Exhibits and Resources
These digital archives are a great way to search and browse for primary sources such as photos, video, audio, or past or present exhibits.
The Densho Digital Archive contains more than 800 hours of interviews, visual histories of Japanese Americans and others affected by the World War II incarceration. Also included are over 10,700 historical images documenting Japanese American history.
The Clara Breed Collection
The online collection of Clara Breed, or "Miss Breed" as she was known by her young library patrons, includes over 300 letters and cards received by Breed from Japanese American children and young adults during their World War II incarceration.
The Art of Gaman: Arts and Crafts from the Japanese American Internment Camps, 1942-1946
The Art of Gaman showcases arts and crafts made by Japanese Americans in U.S. internment camps during World War II.
Camp Harmony Exhibit
This University of Washington Libraries exhibit tells the story of Seattle's Japanese American community in the spring and summer of 1942 and their four month sojourn at the Puyallup Assembly Center known as "Camp Harmony."
Passing Poston, A Discussion with the Filmmakers
CUNY Asian American/Asian Research Institute & Hunter College Asian American Studies Program event from 20 Feb. 2007. Filmmakers Ruth Okimoto, Joe Fox and James Nubile visit for a discussion about their film, Passing Poston. (57:16)
George Takei, TEDx Talk 2013
George Takei (the original Sulu from Star Trek) on Japanese American internment
Image: Evacuees entraining (boarding train) for Manzanar
Evacuees entraining (boarding train) for Manzanar
Original caption: "Los Angeles, California. Evacuees of Japanese ancestry entraining for Manzanar, California, 250 miles away, where they are now housed in a War Relocation Authority center." Date: April/May 1942; Credit: Clem Albert ; Courtesy National Archives
Streaming Videos (on-campus only)
Documentary: Honor Bound
Available to stream via Library database Academice Video Online - https://cuny-lg.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/view/action/uresolver.do?operation=resolveService&package_service_id=767128910006127&institutionId=6127&customerId=6120. From American History in Video; During the Second World War, while America was fighting the Japanese, a unit of second generation Japanese-Americans was fighting bravely on the European front...The 100/442nd Regiment suffered the highest rates casualty and became the most decorated unit in American history. Meanwhile back at home, their families were in desolate internment camps, forced to leave their homes, farms and businesses. This film, made by the daughter of one of the soldiers, tells their story through remembrances and archival footage. With pride the veterans recall how they rescued the" Lost Battalion" of 211 Texans about to be annihilated by the enemy.
Documentary: Rabbit in the Moon
Documentary/memoir. (84:23) Rabbit In the Moon (DVD207) - The story of 120,000 Japanese Americans who were imprisoned in camps during WW II. The trampling of civil rights; a generation's loss of a lifetime's work; the fissures created in a strong, vital community; the drafting of young men from the camp; the racist loyalty questionnaire - all told through the experiences of the co-producers' family and many other former inmates.
Film: Come See the Paradise
Hollywood film from 1990; Set against the background of a controversial period in American history, the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II, Come See The Paradise is the love story of an Irish-American man and a beautiful Japanese-American woman. (from http://www.worldcat.org)
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library