Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Databases Containing Articles and Video to Get Background Information on Any Topic
VAST: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Delivers key video that touches on on topics across a wide range of subject areas and fields of study. Contains more than 50,000 full video titles (not just clips) and currently offers well over 9,000 hours of content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for both academic and magazine articles on almost any topic. The fact that Academic Search Complete gives you access to magazine and newspaper articles, as well as academic and technical articles, means some results may be easier to read. Especially if you don't have a lot of knowledge on the subject you are researching.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide variety of easy-to-read authoritative articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across many major fields of study. A great source for building topic/subject knowledge very quickly. An additional bonus is that the bibliographies included in most articles provide a ready-made map to authoritative academic sources that can save you a lot of time with the research part of your assignment.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access to newspapers from around the world. Also contains legal and business information.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window How-to use Opposing Viewpoints video here
A one-stop source for information on today's most controversial and talked about social issues. This database features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. (100% Full Text)
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library