Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Media Resources Center
Articles & journals
Some links may require Library login.
Standards of Practice: Eight Principles of Good Practice for All Experiential Learning Activities
Source: National Society for Experiential Education. Presented at the 1998 Annual Meeting, Norfolk, VA
The Power of Experiential Education
Eyler, J. (2009). The Power of Experiential Education. Liberal Education, 95(4), 24‐31
Engaged Learning and the Core Purposes of Liberal Education
Harward D. Engaged Learning and the Core Purposes of Liberal Education: Bringing Theory to Practice. Liberal Education. Winter 2007; 93 (1): 6‐15.
What Do We Know about Civic Engagement?
Levine, P. (June 06, 2011). What Do We Know about Civic Engagement? Liberal Education, 97, 2, 12‐19
The Scholarship of Engagement
Ernest L. Boyer. The Scholarships of Engagement. Bulletin of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Vol. 49, No. 7 (Apr., 1996), pp. 18‐33.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access ERIC via the familiar EBSCOhost.interface This database provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
ERIC is also available through the U.S. Dept. of Education web interface
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Articles from education journals, periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides education journals from around the world.
Print and ebooks from LaGuardia Library
Teaching for Experiential Learning by This book describes how to change the way in which educators conduct business in the classroom. Our current educational systems lack ways to reach today's learners in relevant, meaningful ways. The five approaches in this book inspire and motivate students to learn.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2009
Experiential Learning by Experiential learning is a powerful and proven approach to teaching and learning that is based on one incontrovertible reality: people learn best through experience. Now, in this extensively updated book, David A. Kolb offers a systematic and up-to-date statement of the theory of experiential learning and its modern applications to education, work, and adult development. Experiential Learning, Second Edition builds on the intellectual origins of experiential learning as defined by figures such as John Dewey, Kurt Lewin, Jean Piaget, and L.S. Vygotsky, while also reflecting three full decades of research and practice since the classic first edition. Kolb models the underlying structures of the learning process based on the latest insights in psychology, philosophy, and physiology. Building on his comprehensive structural model, he offers an exceptionally useful typology of individual learning styles and corresponding structures of knowledge in different academic disciplines and careers. Kolb also applies experiential learning to higher education and lifelong learning, especially with regard to adult education. This edition reviews recent applications and uses of experiential learning, updates Kolb's framework to address the current organizational and educational landscape, and features current examples of experiential learning both in the field and in the classroom. It will be an indispensable resource for everyone who wants to promote more effective learning: in higher education, training, organizational development, lifelong learning environments, and online.
Call Number: Stacks LB1067 .K63 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Engaged Learning in the Academy by Moore asks the question of whether and under what conditions experience constitutes a legitimate source of knowledge and learning in higher education. Drawing on theory and research, the book addresses three types of challenges and opportunities facing experiential educators: the epistemological, the pedagogical, and the institutional.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2013
Experiential Learning in Philosophy by In this volume, Julinna Oxley and Ramona Ilea bring together essays that examine and defend the use of experiential learning activities to teach philosophical terms, concepts, arguments, and practices. Experiential learning emphasizes the importance of student engagement outside the traditional classroom structure. Service learning, studying abroad, engaging in large-scale collaborative projects such as creating blogs, websites and videos, and practically applying knowledge in a reflective, creative and rigorous way are all forms of experiential learning. Taken together, the contributions to Experiential Learning in Philosophy argue that teaching philosophy is about doing philosophy with others. The book is divided into two sections: essays that engage in the philosophical debate about defining and implementing experiential learning, and essays that describe how to integrate experiential learning into the teaching of philosophy. Experiential Learning in Philosophy provides a timely reflection on best practices for teaching philosophical ideals and theories, an examination of the evolution of the discipline of philosophy and its adoption (or reclamation) of active modes of learning, and an anticipation of the ways in which pedagogical practices will continue to evolve in the 21st century.
Call Number: Stacks B52 .E96 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by "The methodology of the late Paulo Freire, once considered such a threat to the established order that he was "invited" to leave his native Brazil, has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm." "With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come."
Call Number: LB880.F73 P4313 1993
Publication Date: 1993
To Serve a Larger Purpose: engagement for democracy and the transformation of higher education by "To Serve a Larger Purpose" calls for the reclamation of the original democratic purposes of civic engagement and examines the requisite transformation of higher education required to achieve it. The contributors to this timely and relevant volume effectively highlight the current practice of civic engagement and point to the institutional change needed to realize its democratic ideals. Using multiple perspectives, "To Serve a Larger Purpose" explores the democratic processes and purposes that reorient civic engagement to what the editors call "democratic engagement." The norms of democratic engagement are determined by values such as inclusiveness, collaboration, participation, task sharing, and reciprocity in public problem solving and an equality of respect for the knowledge and experience that everyone contributes to education, knowledge generation, and community building. This book shrewdly rethinks the culture of higher education.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2011
Online Resource Collections
Campus Compact Resource Library
Campus Compact advances the public purposes of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to improve community life and to educate students for civic and social responsibility. This rich resource library includes syllabi and knowledge hubs to facilitate browsing around engagement learning topics as well as robust search capabilities.
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library