Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Technology Resources: Educational Resources

Educational Resources

                                                                                                                                                        

LAGCC Veterinary Technology Textbooks 2023-2024
Note: Ask for these books by title at Library's Circulation Desk.
 
Course Book Title Edition ISBN Author Year
SCV 101 Learning Veterinary Terminology or 2nd 9780323013291 McBride 2002
  Veterinary Medical Terminology Guide and Workbook 2nd 9781119465706 Taibo 2019
SCV 151 Shelter Medicine for Veterinarians and Staff 2nd 9780813819938 Miller and Zawistowski 2013
SCV 210/211 Anesthesia and Analgesia for Veterinary Technicians and 6th 9780323760119 Thomas and Lerche 2024
  McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses 10th 9780323722001 Bassert, et al.. 2021
SCV 211 Small Animal Dental Procedures for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses 2nd 9781119451839 Perrone 2021
SCV 212 Lavin's Radiography for Veterinary Technicians 7th 9780323763707 Brown and Brown 2022
SCV 213 Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians 7th 9780323595384 Sirois 2020
SCV 214 Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians 4th 9780323569040 Holtgrew-Bohling 2020
SCV 220 Laboratory Animal and Exotic Pet Medicine: Principles and Procedures 3rd 9780323778169 Sirois and Calantropio-Covington 2022
SCV 247 No text N/A N/A N/A N/A
SCV 262 Bill's Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Veterinary Technicians 5th 9780323880404 Anderson  2024

                                         

Note: Unless otherwise noted, print periodicals are shelved on the mezzanine level of the Library.

                                                                     

Title    Print Holdings     Online Holdings  

Anatomia, Histologia, Embryologia: Journal of the                  World Association of Veterinary Anatomists

      v.26 (1997) - current  
Animal Behaviour (UK)       v.49 (1995) - current   
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine       v.1 (2018) - current  
Australian Veterinary Journal       v.75 (1997) - current  
Comparative Immunology, Microbiology and Infectious              Diseases     v.18 (1995) - current  
Dog World: The Complete All-breed Magazine       v.88 (2003) - v.97 (2012)     v.83 (1998) - v.97 (2012)  
Epidemiology and Infection       v.98 (1987) - current  
Equine Veterinary Journal       v.1 (1968) - current  

International Journal of Veterinary Science and                           Medicine

      v.1 (2013) - v.6 (2018)  
Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition       v.77 (1997) - current
Journal of Comparative Pathology       v.112 (1995) - current
Journal of Equine Veterinary Science       v.15 (1995) - current
Journal of Exotic Pet Medicine       v.15 (2006) - current
Journal of Medical Primatology       v.28 (1999) - current
Journal of Small Animal Practice       v.38 (1997) - current
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association          (JAVMA)     v.162 (1973) - v.168 (1976);                v.216 (2000) - current     v.196 (1990) - current
Journal of Veterinary Behavior: Clinical Applications                and Research       v.1 (2006) - current
Journal of Veterinary Cardiology       v.1 (1999) - current
Journal of Veterinary Dentistry       v.29 (2012) - v.31 (2014)
Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care       v.7 (1997) - current
Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine       v.1 (1987) - current

Journal of Veterinary Medicine, Series A                            (title changed to: Transboundary and Emerging                       Diseases)

      v.44 (1997) - v. 54 (2007)
Journal of Veterinary Medicine, Series B                           (title changed to: Zoonoses and Public Health)       v.44 (1997) - v.53 (2006)
Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics       v.20 (1997) - current

Kirk’s Current Veterinary Therapy: Small Animal                      Practice

    2000                                                  (shelved in Reference at SF745.C8)

 
Lab Animal     v.10 (1981) - v.37 (2008)     v.32 (2003) - v.50 (2021)

The NAVTA [National Association of Veterinary                        Technicians in America] Journal

    Winter 2002 - Fall 2008  
Open Access Animal Physiology       v.5 (2013) - v.8 (2016)
Preventive Veterinary Medicine       v.21 (1995) - current
Transboundary and Emerging Diseases                           (previous title:Journal of Veterinary Medicine, Series B)       v.55 (2008) - current
Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia         v.24 (1997) - v.43 (2016)

Veterinary Journal (London, Eng.)

      v.153 (1997) - current

Veterinary Medical School Admission Requirements:              

     2019 for 2020 Matriculation                (shelved in Reference                             at SF756.35.V47 2019)

    2020 for 2021 Matriculation
Veterinary Medicine and Science       v.1 (2015) - current
Veterinary Microbiology       v.43 (1995) - current
Veterinary Practice News     v.21 (2009) - current  
Veterinary Surgery       v.26 (1997) - current
Veterinary Technician      v.6 (1985) - v.30 (2009)  
Zoonoses and Public Health                                             (previous title:Journal of Veterinary Medicine, Series B)        v.54 (2007) - current

LaGuardia Community College. Veterinary Technology Program Handbook, 2024-2025.
www.laguardia.edu/uploadedFiles/Main_Site/Content/Academics/Docs/Vet-Tech-Handbook.pdf

 

Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC)  www.capcvet.org
This site contains helpful information regarding common parasites observed in patients of veterinary medicine.

Today's Veterinary Nurse todaysveterinarynurse.com

An "official journal of the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC), Today’s Veterinary Nurse ... [contains] practical peer-reviewed, state-of-the-art companion animal nursing and technical educational" resources.

United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Center for Veterinary Medicine.  https://www.fda.gov/animal-veterinary
Supports its misssion of "protecting human and animal health" with information about animal food, animal drugs, and animal medical devices, and sections directed at industry, consumers, and veterinarians.

Veterinary Education in Video  https://video.alexanderstreet.com/channel/veterinary-education-in-video   
Videos covering veterinary procedures and issues that occur in a veterinary practice..

VETgirl  www.vetgirlontherun.com
A highly educational site founded by two veterinary emergency and critical care specialists. They provide continuing education opportunities, helpful tips, and videos for veterinarians and veterinary technicians.

VIN (Veterinary Information Network)  https://www.vin.com/vin/
Membership site that provides wide-ranging educational resources and professional networking "for veterinarians, by veterinarians." Includes a student site at https://www.vin.com/students/default.aspx. Also includes a "client education website" (https://veterinarypartner.vin.com) that provides "veterinary expert-reviewed pet health information" on diseases and care, organized by species, with extensive material on medications. 

 
 
Library Media Resources Center
LaGuardia Community College
31-10 Thomson Avenue, room E101
Long Island City, NY 11101
Email the Library